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NOTICE OF ENTRY OF JUDGMENT 

STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA    IN SMALL CLAIMS COURT 

COUNTY OF          CASE No.            

         , V.             . 
                  Plaintiff,       Defendant. 

TO:               
       (Name(s) of losing party or parties) 

1. Please take notice that on      , a Small Claims Court 

judgment was entered against you, the Plaintiff / Defendant (circle the losing party). The 

Docket (Index) Number is ______. A copy of the Small Claims Court judgment is attached. 

2. You may pay the winning party directly. If you pay the winning party directly, they will 

prepare a written satisfaction of judgment and file the same with this court. 

3. If you do not pay the judgment to the winning party within 30 days of service of the 

Notice of Entry of Judgment, the winning party may begin using the judgment collection 

processes allowed by North Dakota law. 

Dated:       . 

         
(Signature of winning party) 

         
(Typed or printed name) 

         
(Address) 

         
(City, State, Zip Code) 

         
(Telephone number)  

         
(Email Address) 
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DECLARATION OF SERVICE BY MAIL

STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA IN SMALL CLAIMS COURT 

COUNTY OF   CASE No.  

,   V.    . 
Plaintiff, Defendant. 

1. I,                   (name of person mailing documents), 

state that I am at least 18 years of age, and on           (date), I served 

the Notice of Entry of Judgment and a copy of the judgment in the above entitled Small Claims 

Court case by placing a true and correct copy of each in an envelope addressed to the last 

known address of each party as follows (party name and address): 

(1) _________________________________  (2)_________________________________ 

__________________________________     __________________________________ 

__________________________________     __________________________________ 

__________________________________     __________________________________ 

and depositing the envelope, with sufficient postage, in the United States mail in 

 (City),     (State). 

2. I declare, under penalty of perjury of the law of North Dakota, that the information

contained in this Declaration of Mailing is true and correct. 

Signed on   (date) at  (city), 

 County  (state),  (country). 

(Signature of Person who Mailed Envelope) 

(Printed Name) 

(Address)   (City, State, Zip Code) (Telephone Number) 
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Instructions for Notice of Entry of Judgment Form and 
Declaration of Service by Mail Form 

When a judgment is entered in a Small Claims Court case, Rule 58 of the North Dakota Rules of 
Civil Procedure requires the winning party to serve a Notice of Entry of Judgment on the losing 
party or parties. 

The winning party must serve a Notice of Entry of Judgment on the losing party or parties 
within 30 days after the judgment is entered. A copy of the signed and dated judgment must be 
served with the Notice of Entry of Judgment. 

STEP 1: Fill Out the Notice of Entry of Judgment Form 

Top of Form (Caption): Fill in the county, small claims court case number, and names of the 
parties exactly as they appear on your Form 2: Claim Affidavit. 

To: Fill in the full, legal name of the losing party or parties who will be served Notice of Entry of 
Judgment. 

Paragraph 1:  Fill in the date the Judicial Officer or the Clerk of Court signed the Small Claims 
Court judgment. Circle either Plaintiff or Defendant for the losing party. Fill in the Docket 
(Index) Number of the judgment. 

To find the Docket (Index) Number of the Small Claims Court judgment: 

• Go to ndcourts.gov. 
• Click on the “Search Records & Pay Fines” link. 
• Read the information, then click on the “Click Here to Proceed” link. 
• Select the county where your Small Claims Court case was decided, or select State of 

North Dakota from the drop down menu. 
• Click on the “Civil, Family & Probate Case Records” link. 
• Select “Case” in the “Search By:” field. 
• Enter your Small Claims Court case number in the “Case Number” field. 
• Click on the “Search” box. 
• Click on the link for your case number. 
• Scroll through the list of documents until you find the judgment. 
• The Docket (Index) Number will be shown as “Index # ___” 

You may also call the Clerk of Court for the Docket (Index) Number of the judgment. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-resources/rules/ndrcivp/58
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-resources/rules/ndrcivp/58
http://www.ndcourts.gov/
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Date and Signature:  Complete the date and signature block. 

• Fill in the date you sign this document. 
• Sign the signature line. 
• Fill in the address, telephone number, and email address lines.  If you have a physical 

address and a mailing address, type or write both addresses using the lines provided, 
and the space next to the address lines. 

STEP 2: Serve Copies of the Notice of Entry of Judgment & the Judgment 

Make at least two copies of the completed Notice of Entry of Judgment form. Keep one copy 
for your records. You serve the other copy or copies on the losing party or parties. You file the 
originals with the Clerk of Court in Step 3. 

Make copies of the Judgment with the date and signature of the Judicial Officer or the Clerk 
of Court. Make one copy for each losing party you serve. Keep one copy for your records.  You 
serve the other copy or copies on the losing party or parties in the case. 

Serve the following on each losing party by mail: 

• A copy of the completed Notice of Entry of Judgment form; and 
• A copy of the Small Claims Court Judgment signed and dated by the Judicial Officer or 

the Clerk of Court. 

***Serve each losing party. You don’t need to serve a copy on yourself.***  

The person who mailed the envelope(s) fills out the Declaration of Service by Mail Form: 

• Top of Form (Caption): Fill in exactly as it appears in the completed Notice of Entry of 
Judgment form. 

• Name & Mailing Date: Fill in the full, legal name of the person who mailed the 
documents. The person may be the winning party, as long as they’re at least 18 years 
old. Fill in the date copies of the documents were mailed. 

• Address Block: Fill in the full, legal name of the losing party or parties. Fill in the address 
where the copies of the documents were mailed. 

• City/State: Fill in the city and state from which you mailed the copies of the documents. 
• Date and Signature: Fill in the date the declaration was signed and the city, county, and 

state where the declaration was signed. The person who mailed copies of the 
documents signs the form and completes the lines below their signature. 

Service is complete upon mailing. 
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STEP 3: File the Notice of Entry of Judgment and Declarations of Service 
with the Clerk of Court 

The winning party must file proof of service with the Clerk of Court of a copy the Notice of Entry 
of Judgment and a copy of the judgment on each losing party in the Small Claims Court case.  
You don’t need to provide proof of service on yourself. 

A completed and signed declaration of service showing service on each party is your proof of 
service. 

File the following with the Clerk of Court: 

• The original, completed Notice of Entry of Judgment form; and 
• A completed and signed declaration of service by mail that shows each losing party was 

served a copy of the completed Notice of Entry of Judgment form and a copy of the 
signed and dated Judgment. 

STEP 4: Collect the Judgment 

Wait 30 days from the date of service of the Notice of Entry of Judgment: 

You must wait 30 days from the date of service of the Notice of Entry of Judgment before you 
can begin using the judgment collection options allowed by North Dakota law. This allows time 
for the losing party to pay the judgment voluntarily. 

If the judgment isn’t paid voluntarily: 

You may need to take additional steps to get your money.  If the losing party doesn’t pay the 
judgment voluntarily, North Dakota law provides a number of judgment collection options. 
Following are some of the judgment collection options allowed by North Dakota law: 

• Writ of Execution: A court order to a sheriff to seize non-exempt property of the losing 
party in order to satisfy the judgment. 

• Judgment Lien Against Real Property: the judgment is a lien against all North Dakota real 
property (real estate), except the homestead, of the losing party. 

• Garnishment: The act of taking the wages of the losing party in order to satisfy the 
judgment. 

For information on judgment collection, go to ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/small-claims. 

***The Small Claims Court can’t collect the judgment for you.***  

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/small-claims
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