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Instructions for a Name Change – Minor Child (Under 18 Years Old) 

Important! Read Before Using These Forms and Instructions! 
ND Legal Self Help Center staff and Court employees can’t help you fill out forms. If you’re 
unsure if these forms and instructions suit your circumstances, consult a lawyer. 

ND Legal Self Help Center forms aren’t official court forms. Judges and courts aren’t required 
to accept Center forms. There’s no guarantee Center forms will be accepted. 

If you need legal advice or legal representation, consult a lawyer licensed to practice in North 
Dakota. Go to ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer for information about finding a 
lawyer to represent you. 

When you represent yourself, you’re expected to know and follow the law, including: 

• State or federal laws that apply to your case; 
• Case law, also called court opinions, that applies to your case; and 
• Court rules that apply to your case, which may include: 

o North Dakota Rules of Civil Procedure; 
o North Dakota Rules of Court; 
o North Dakota Rules of Evidence; 
o North Dakota Administrative Rules and Orders; and 
o Any local court rules. 

Links to the state laws, case law, and court rules are available at ndcourts.gov. 

A glossary with definitions of legal terms is available at ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help.  

When you represent yourself, you’re held to the same requirements and responsibilities as a 
lawyer, even if you don’t understand the rules or procedures. 

These instructions and forms aren’t a complete statement of the law. They cover the basic 
procedure for petitioning a North Dakota state district court for the name change of a minor 

child (less than 18 years old). If the forms don’t fit your circumstances, consult a lawyer. There’s 
no guarantee that all judges and courts will accept forms available through the ND Legal Self 

Help Center. The Center isn’t responsible for any consequences that may result from the forms 
or information provided. 

Use these forms and instructions at your own risk. 

 
Requirements for name changes are in North Dakota Century Code Chapter 32-28. 

A minor child is less than 18 years old. If a child is 18 years or older, the child is an adult and 
must petition for a name change on their own. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
http://www.ndcourts.gov/
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help
https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c28.html
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/name-change-adult
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Note:  You (Petitioner) and the minor child must be residents of the North Dakota county 

where you intend to file the Petition for at least six months before you file the Petition. 

Also Note:  The minor child must be either a citizen or a permanent resident alien of the United 

States. 

You May Ask the Judge Assigned to your Case to Waive the 
Publication Requirement 

Caution: N.D.C.C. § 32-28-02 could be interpreted to mean that publication for the change of a 
minor’s name can’t be waived. N.D.C.C. § 32-28-02 could also be interpreted to require service 
of the Notice of Petition for Name Change even if the judge waives publication of the Notice. 
North Dakota Legal Self Help Center staff can’t interpret the law for you and tell you what the 
law means for your circumstances. Interpretation of a law requires legal advice. Center staff 
can’t give you legal advice under any circumstances. If you want the law interpreted for you, 
consult a lawyer.  

North Dakota law requires that you publish notice of the minor child’s name change in the 
newspaper before the judge assigned to your case can consider granting the child’s name 
change. (See N.D.C.C. § 32-28-02(4).) A Declaration of Publication or an Affidavit of Publication 
from the newspaper is your proof you published the notice. 

• If the minor child has a non-custodial parent who lives in a different county than the 
child, publication is also required in a newspaper in the non-custodial parent’s county. 

• A non-custodial parent is a parent with less than 50% of the residential responsibility. 

However, before you publish notice of the minor child’s name change, you may ask the judge 
assigned to your case to waive the publication requirement if:  

1. You’re only asking for a change to the minor child’s first and/or middle name; or 
2. You’re a victim of domestic violence as defined by North Dakota Century Code Section 

14-07.1-01, which states: 
“Domestic violence includes physical harm, bodily injury, sexual activity compelled 
by physical force, assault, or the infliction of fear of imminent physical harm, bodily 
injury, sexual activity compelled by physical force, or assault, not committed in self-
defense, on the complaining family or household members.” 

Important:  North Dakota law only allows a judge to consider the two reasons listed above 

for waiving the publication requirement. 

https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c28.pdf#nameddest=32-28-02
https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c28.pdf#nameddest=32-28-02
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c28.pdf#nameddest=32-28-02
https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t14c07-1.pdf#nameddest=14-07p1-01
https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t14c07-1.pdf#nameddest=14-07p1-01
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If the judge doesn’t grant your request to waive publication in the newspaper(s), you need to 
publish notice in the newspaper(s) and file the Declaration(s) of Publication or Affidavit(s) of 
Publication with the court. The newspaper gives you a Declaration(s) of Publication or 
Affidavit(s) of Publication after publication of the notice is complete. 

This packet of forms and instructions includes the option of asking the judge assigned to your 
case to waive publication. 

Criminal History Record Checks 

Review the requirements for getting a criminal history record check Before you start the 
name change petition process. The process can take weeks. 

The judge assigned to your name change case is required to determine whether the minor child 
have a criminal record Before they can grant the child’s name change. 

The judge may require a criminal history record check for the minor child for North Dakota or 
any other state. You’re required to pay all costs associated with the criminal history record 
check. 

Some judges require criminal history record checks for all name change cases for minor 
children. Other judges decide after reviewing the name change petition and other supporting 
documents. 

Before you start the name change process, contact the Clerk of Court and ask if you’re 
required to get a criminal history record check for a minor child. If the Clerk of Court doesn’t 
know, the judge decides after you file your petition and other supporting documents for the 
minor child’s name change. 

If the judge requires you to complete a criminal history background check for the minor child, 
you may be directed to the following website to get the child’s criminal history background 
check: fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks. 

 

 

(This space left intentionally blank.) 

https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
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Overview of the Name Change of a Minor Child Process 

Step 1. Publish the Notice Of Petition for Name Change in the Newspaper(s); Serve the 
Notice on the Non-Custodial Parent and Complete a Declaration of Service by Mail. 

 Get the Declaration(s) of Publication or Affidavit(s) of Publication from the 
newspaper(s). 

 OR, Skip Step 1 and Step 2 if Asking the Judge to Waive Publication. 

Step 2. Wait 30 Calendar Days Before Completing the Rest of the Name Change Forms 
Gather any written objections you receive after publication of the Notice. 
If you ask the judge to waive publication, you won’t gather written objections. 

Step 3. Complete the Rest of the Name Change Forms. 
You must wait 30 calendar days from publishing the Notice of Name Change. 

Step 4. 30 Days After Publication, File the Original Petition, Declaration, Confidential 
Information Form, Notice of Petition for Name Change, Declaration of Service by 
Mail, (Proposed) Order Granting Name Change (Confidential), (Proposed) Order 
Granting Name Change (Redacted), Declaration(s) of Publication or Affidavit(s) of 
Publication, and any Written Objections with the Clerk of Court. 

 Pay the $80.00 filing fee or file the completed petition to waive filing fees. 

 OR, if Asking the Judge to Waive Publication, File the Original Petition, Declaration, 
Confidential Information Form, (Proposed) Order Granting Name Change 
(Confidential), and (Proposed) Order Granting Name Change (Redacted). 

 Pay the $80.00 filing fee or file the completed petition to waive filing fees. 

Step 5. Get the Minor Child’s Criminal History Record Check.* 
*If the judge requires you to get one. 
If the judge doesn’t require a criminal history background check, skip Step 5. 

Step 6. The Judge Decides Whether to Grant the Name Change 
The judge may make a decision without holding a hearing, or may require you to 
appear at a hearing before making a decision. 

Step 7. Request a certified copy, or copies, of the Confidential Order Granting Name Change 
If the judge grants the name change, request certified copies of the confidential order. 
 



NDLSHC Page 5 of 20 Min NC Inst/Rev Jan 2024 

Forms Needed for Name Change of a Minor Child 

1. Notice of Petition For Name Change 
2. Declaration of Service by Mail (for Notice of Petition to non-custodial parent) 
3. Petition for Name Change of a Minor Child 
4. Declaration of Petitioner 
5. Confidential Information Form 
6. (Proposed) Order Granting Name Change (Confidential) 
7. (Proposed) Order Granting Name Change (Redacted) 

Step 1: 

Complete the Notice of Petition for Name Change Form; Publish 
Notice of Petition in the Newspaper(s); Mail a Copy of the Notice to 

the Non-Custodial Parent & Complete a Declaration of Service by Mail 

Important!  You may skip Step 1 and Step 2 only if you plan to ask the judge assigned to your 

case to waive publication of the notice in the newspaper(s). If you plan to ask the judge to 
waive publication, go directly to Step 3. 

The judge may waive publication in the newspaper(s) for only the two reasons listed on Page 2 
of these instructions. 

Caution: N.D.C.C. § 32-28-02 could be interpreted to mean that publication for the change of a 
minor’s name can’t be waived. N.D.C.C. § 32-28-02 could also be interpreted to require service 
of the Notice of Petition for Name Change even if the judge waives publication of the Notice. 
North Dakota Legal Self Help Center staff can’t interpret the law for you and tell you what the 
law means for your circumstances. Interpretation of a law requires legal advice. Center staff 
can’t give you legal advice under any circumstances. If you want the law interpreted for you, 
consult a lawyer. 

If the judge assigned to your case doesn’t waive publication in the newspaper, complete Step 
1 and Step 2 and file the following with the court: 

• The Declaration(s) of Publication or Affidavit(s) of Publication (provided by the 
newspaper or newspapers); and 

• The Declaration of Service by Mail of a copy of the notice mailed to the non-custodial 
parent. 

https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c28.pdf#nameddest=32-28-02
https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c28.pdf#nameddest=32-28-02
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
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Complete the Notice of Petition for Name Change Form  

You, the minor child’s parent or legal guardian, are the Petitioner in this name change action. 

 Fill in the top part (caption) of the Notice of Petition for Name Change form: 

• Fill in the name of the North Dakota county where you and the minor child currently 
live. You and the child must have lived in the county for at least the past 6 months. 

• Fill in the minor child’s current first, middle (if any), and last name. 

 Fill in the first paragraph of the Notice of Petition for Name Change form:  

• Fill in the minor child’s current first, middle (if any), and last name. 
• Fill in the minor child’s requested first, middle (if any), and last name. 

 Date and sign the Notice of Petition for Name Change form:  

• Date and sign the Notice. 
• Print your name and address. 
• If your mailing address is different from your street address, include both addresses. 

Write or type your mailing address in the blank space to right of the address block.  

Publish the Notice of Petition for Name Change in the Newspaper(s) 

Caution: N.D.C.C. § 32-28-02 doesn’t say how many times the Notice of Petition for Name 
Change must be printed in the newspaper. N.D.C.C. § 32-28-02 only states that before a judge 
can order a name change, the petitioner must have given 30 days previous notice in the official 
newspaper of the county where the petitioner lives and in the official newspaper of the county 
where the non-custodial parent lives. North Dakota Legal Self Help Center staff can’t interpret 
the law for you. Interpretation of a law requires legal advice. Center staff can’t give you legal 
advice under any circumstances. If you want the law interpreted for you, consult a lawyer. 

 Have the completed Notice of Petition for Name Change published in the official county 
newspaper where you and the minor child live.  

• Publication can be done in print edition, in e-edition, or both. 

 Important!  If the minor child has a non-custodial parent* And you published the Notice, 

you must also have the Notice of Petition for Name Change published in the official county 
newspaper where the non-custodial parent lives, if different from where you live. 

*A non-custodial parent is a parent with less than 50% of the residential responsibility. 

https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c28.pdf#nameddest=32-28-02
https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c28.pdf#nameddest=32-28-02
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
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 After publication is complete, the newspaper(s) gives you a Declaration(s) of Publication or 
an Affidavit(s) of Publication. Make a copy for your records. (You file the original(s) with the 
clerk of court in Step 4.) 

Important:  No documents can be filed with the court uuntil 30 days after publication of 

notice in the newspaper(s). 

 You may receive written objections after Notice is published. Make copies of the written 
objections for your records. (You file the original(s) with the clerk of court in Step 3.) 

Within 10 Days of Publication in the Newspaper(s), Mail a Copy of the Notice to 
the Non-Custodial Parent 

 If the minor child has a non-custodial parent and you published the Notice, you must mail a 
copy of the Notice of Petition for Name Change to the non-custodial parent within 10 days 
of publication in the newspaper(s).  

• The Notice of Petition for Name Change must be mailed to the last known address of 
the non-custodial parent, postage prepaid, from a post office in North Dakota. 

CAUTION: N.D.C.C. § 32-28-02 could be interpreted to require service of the Notice of Petition 
for Name Change even if the judge waives publication of the Notice. North Dakota Legal Self 
Help Center staff can’t interpret the law for you and tell you what the law means for your 
circumstances. Interpretation of a law requires legal advice. Center staff can’t give you legal 
advice under any circumstances. If you want the law interpreted for you, consult a lawyer.  

Complete the Declaration of Service by Mail Form 

This document is proof that a copy of the Notice of Petition for Name Change was mailed to 
the non-custodial parent and the address where it was mailed. 

If the minor child has a non-custodial parent and publication in the newspaper isn’t waived by 
the court, you, the Petitioner, must file a Declaration of Service by Mail with the court to prove 
that a copy of the Notice was mailed to the non-custodial parent. 

Important!  The copy of the Notice of Petition for Name Change must be mailed from a 

United Stated Post Office located in North Dakota by someone who is at least 18 years old! 

The copy of the Notice of Petition for Name Change is mailed by first-class mail, postage 
prepaid. 

https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c28.pdf#nameddest=32-28-02
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
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The person who took the Notice of Petition for Name Change to the Post Office and paid the 
postage fills out the Declaration of Service by Mail as follows: 

 Fill in the top part (caption) of the Declaration of Service by Mail form: 

• Fill in the name of the North Dakota county where you and the minor child live. 
• Leave the case number blank. The case number is assigned by the clerk of court when 

you file the petition and other documents in Step 3. 
• Fill in the minor child’s current first, middle (if any), and last name. 

 1. Fill in the first paragraph of the Declaration of Service by Mail form: 

• The person who took the Notice to the Post Office and paid the postage fills in their full 
name. 

 2. Stop!  If this statement isn’t accurate, you can’t use these forms. 

 3. Stop!  If this statement isn’t accurate, you can’t use these forms. 

 4. Fill in the date the Notice was mailed, and include the city, county, and state where 
the post office is located. 

 5. Fill in the name of the person served, the mailing address, city, state, and zip code. 

 6. You’re declaring under penalty of perjury that all the information stated in this 
Declaration of Service is true and correct. 

 Date and sign the Declaration of Service by Mail form:  

• By dating and signing this document, you’re declaring everything you stated in this 
Declaration is true and correct. 

• Date and sign the Declaration. 
• Print your name, address, telephone number, and email address on the lines following 

your signature.  

 Make a copy of the Declaration of Service by Mail for your records. (You file the original(s) 
with the clerk of court in Step 3.) 
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Step 2: 

Wait 30 Calendar Days Before Completing the Rest of the Name 
Change Forms 

The forms in this packet require you, the Petitioner, to tell the judge whether you received any 
objections to the minor child’s name change in the 30 days after you published notice in the 
newspaper(s). 

If you use this packet of forms, you Must wait 30 calendar days from the day after 

publication Before you complete the remaining name change forms. 

 Calculate 30 calendar days (see Rule 6 of the North Dakota Rules of Civil Procedure): 

• Don’t include the date the notice of the minor child’s name change was published; 
• Count forward by calendar days, including Saturdays, Sundays, and North Dakota state 

holidays; and 
• Include the 30th day, but if the 30th day is a Saturday, Sunday, and North Dakota state 

holiday, the deadline moves forward to the end of the next day that isn’t a Saturday, 
Sunday, and North Dakota state holiday. 

 If you receive written objections after the Notice is published, make copies of the written 
objections for your records. (You file the originals with the clerk of court in Step 4.) 

Step 3: 

Complete the Rest of the Name Change Forms 

You, the minor child’s parent or legal guardian, are the Petitioner in this action. 

Complete the Petition for Name Change of a Minor Form 

 Fill in the top part (caption) of the Petition for Name Change of a Minor Child form: 

• Fill in the name of the North Dakota county where you and the minor child currently 
live. You must have lived in the county for at least the past 6 months. 

• Leave the case number blank. The case number is assigned by the clerk of court when 
you file the petition and other documents in Step 4. 

• Fill in the minor child’s first, middle (if any), and last name.  

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-resources/rules/ndrcivp/6
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 1. Fill in the first paragraph of Petition for Name Change of a Minor Child form:  

• Fill in your first, middle (if any), and last name. 
• Fill in the minor child’s current first, middle (if any), and last name on the correct lines in 

the box. 

 2. Fill in your relationship to the minor child. 

 3. Fill in your current address in North Dakota. Stop!  If this statement isn’t accurate, you 

can’t use these forms. 

 4. Fill in the minor child’s current county (where the minor child lives) in North Dakota. 

Stop!  If this statement isn’t accurate, you can’t use these forms. 

 5. Put a checkmark () next to the option that’s accurate for the minor child’s situation. 

Don’t put a checkmark in both options. Stop!  In order to use these forms the child 

must be either a United States citizen or a permanent resident alien of the United 
States. 

 6. Fill in the minor child’s birth year. Don’t fill in the minor child’s month and day of birth. 

The child Must be less than 18 years old. 

 7. Fill in the minor child’s requested, first, middle (if any), and last name on the correct 
lines in the box. 

 8.  This paragraph tells the court that the reasons you’re asking for a name change are  
 listed in a separate declaration that you’ll complete and file with the petition. 

 9. This paragraph tells the court that you believe court appointment of a guardian ad 

litem for the child is unnecessary. Stop!  If this statement isn’t accurate, you can’t use 

these forms. 

 10. Put a checkmark () next to the statement that’s accurate for your situation. 

• Check the first box on Page 2 if you published the Notice in the newspaper: 

o Fill in the date the notice was published; 
o Fill in the name of the newspaper; 
o Fill in the county for which the newspaper is the official newspaper for notices. 

o Put a checkmark () next to the One box that’s accurate for your situation: 
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• If you checked the box on Page 2 stating the minor child doesn’t have a 
non-custodial parent, you’re done with Paragraph 10 and can proceed to 
Paragraph 11. 

• If you checked the box on Page 3 stating the minor child has a non-custodial 
parent:  
o Fill in the date the notice was published; 
o Fill in the name of the newspaper; 
o Fill in the county for which the newspaper is the official newspaper for 

notices; 
o Put in the date you mailed the Notice to the non-custodial parent; 
o Put in the city of the post office the Notice was mailed. 

• Check the first highlighted box on Page 3 if you’re asking the judge to waive 
publication of the Notice (if the judge Doesn’t waive publication, go back and 
complete Step 1 and Step 2. File the Declaration(s) of Publication or Affidavit(s) of 
Publication): 

o Put a checkmark () next to the box(es) stating why you’re asking for publication 
of the Notice to be waived. 

 11. Review the 3 checkmark options on Page 3 and Page 4. Put a checkmark () next to 
the statement that’s accurate for your situation. 

 12. Stop!  If this statement isn’t accurate, you can’t use these forms. 

 13. Stop!  If this statement isn’t accurate, you can’t use these forms. 

 14. No additional information is required for this paragraph. 

 15. WHEREFORE Paragraph: No additional information is required for this paragraph. 

 Date and sign the Petition for Minor Name Change form:  

• Date and sign the Petition. 
• Print your name and address.  
• If your mailing address is different from your street address, include both addresses. 

Write or type your mailing address in the blank space to below the address block. 
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Complete the Declaration of Petitioner Form 

 Fill in the top part (caption) of the Declaration of Petitioner form: 

• Fill in the caption exactly like the caption of your Petition for Name Change of a 
Minor Child form. 

 Fill in the first paragraph of Declaration of Petitioner form:  

• Fill in your current first, middle (if any), and last name. 

 1. Fill in your current first, middle (if any), and last name. This must match Paragraph 1 of 
your Petition for Name Change of a Minor Child. 

 2. Fill in your relationship to the minor child. This must match Paragraph 2 of your 
Petition for Name Change of a Minor Child. 

 3.  Fill in the other parent’s first, middle (if any), and last name and their last known post 
office address. 

 4. Put a checkmark () next to the box that is accurate for your situation. Don’t put a 
checkmark in both options. A non-custodial parent is a parent with less than 50% of the 
residential responsibility. 

 5. Put a checkmark () next to the option that is accurate for the minor child’s situation. 
Don’t put a checkmark in both options. This must match Paragraph 5 of your Petition 
for Name Change of a Minor Child. 

 6.  Fill in the minor child’s current first, middle (if any), and last name. This must match 
Paragraph 1 of your Petition for Name Change of a Minor Child. 

 7. Fill in the year the minor child was born. This must match Paragraph 6 of your Petition 
for Name Change of a Minor Child. 

• Fill in where the child was born. 

 8. Fill in the name of the North Dakota county where you and the minor child live in 
North Dakota. You and the minor child must have lived in the county for the past six 
months. This must match the name of the North Dakota County in Paragraph 3 of your 
Petition for Name Change of a Minor Child. 
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 9. (First box): Fill in the minor child’s current first, middle (if any), and last name (this 
must match Paragraph 1 of your Petition for Name Change of a Minor Child); 

(Second box): Fill in the minor child’s requested first, middle (if any), and last name 
(this must match Paragraph 7 of your Petition for Name Change of a Minor Child).  

• Explain in detail the reasons for the name change and how those reasons are in the 
child’s best interests. 

• If the minor child has criminal convictions under state or federal law, explain how 
your request to change the minor child’s name isn’t based upon an intent to defraud 
or mislead, is made in good faith, won’t cause injury to an individual, and won’t 
compromise public safety. 

• If you need additional space for your statement, don’t write on the back of the form. 
Write on one side of a new sheet (or sheets) of paper and put a checkmark () next 
to “Additional sheets attached for Paragraph 9.” 

 10. Checkmark () and complete the same boxes as Paragraph 10 of your Petition. 

• If you’re requesting a waiver of publication because of domestic violence and need 
additional space for your statement, don’t write on the back of the form. 

• Write on one side of a new sheet (or sheets) of paper and put a checkmark () next 
to “Additional sheets attached for Paragraph 10.” 

 11. Put a checkmark () next to the same boxes as Paragraph 11 of your Petition. 

• If you received written objections to the petition for name change, list the names of 
the people who objected and their relationship to the minor child. 

• You file the written objections with the clerk of court in Step 3. 

 12. Stop!  If this statement isn’t accurate, you can’t use these forms. 

 13. Stop!  If this statement isn’t accurate, you can’t use these forms. 

 Date and sign the Declaration of Petitioner form:  

• By dating and signing this document, you’re declaring under penalty of perjury 
that everything you stated in this Declaration is true and correct. 

• Date and sign the Declaration. Print your name, address, telephone number, and 
email address following your signature.  



NDLSHC Page 14 of 20 Min NC Inst/Rev Jan 2024 

Complete the Confidential Information Form 

Note:  This document won’t be accessible to the public. See Rule 3.4 of the North Dakota Rules 

of Court for privacy protections for documents filed with the court. 

 Fill in the top part (caption) of the Confidential Information Form: 

• Fill in the caption exactly like the caption of your Petition for Name Change of a Minor 
Child form. 

 MINOR CHILD’s current, full name: 

• Fill in the minor child’s current first, middle (if any), and last name. This must match 
Paragraph 1 of your Petition for Name Change of a Minor Child. 

 Fill in the minor child’s birthdate information: 

• On the “Date of Birth” line, fill in the minor child’s full date of birth (month/day/year). 
• On the “Year of Birth” line, fill in the minor child’s Year of birth Only. 

Date and sign your (Petitioner’s) name, print your name, address, telephone number, and 
email address. 

Complete the (Proposed) Order Granting Name Change Form (Confidential) 

Note:  This document is filed as a confidential document because it contains the minor child’s 

full birthdate. This document won’t be accessible to the public. 

See Rule 3.4 of the North Dakota Rules of Court for privacy protections for documents filed with 
the court. 

You must Exactly match the information you included in your Petition for Name Change of a 
Minor Child form and Confidential Information Form. 

 Fill in the top part (caption) of the proposed Order Granting Name Change (Confidential) 
form: 

• Fill in the caption exactly like the caption of your Petition for Name Change of a Minor 
Child form. 

 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-resources/rules/ndrct/3-4
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-resources/rules/ndrct/3-4
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-resources/rules/ndrct/3-4
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 1. Fill in the first paragraph of the proposed Order Granting Name Change form:  

• Fill in the name of the City where you and the minor child live. 
• Fill in the name of the County where you and the minor child live. 
• Fill in your current full name. 

 Fill in both boxes in Paragraph 1: 

• Fill in the first box with the minor child’s current first, middle (if any), and last name. 
• Fill in the second box with the minor child’s requested first, middle (if any), and last 

name. 

 2. Fill in the minor child’s full date of birth (month/day/year). 

 3. Skip Paragraph 3. 

 4. Fill in both boxes in Paragraph 4: 

• Fill in the first box with the minor child’s current first, middle (if any), and last name. 
• Fill in the second box with the minor child’s requested first, middle (if any), and last 

name. 

Stop!  Don’t date or sign this document. If the judge grants the name change, the judge 

dates and signs the document. 

Complete the (Proposed) Order Granting Name Change Form (Redacted) 

Note:  This document is Redacted. This means information is edited to remove confidential 

information. The redacted information is the minor child’s birth date (that information has 
been replaced with only the year of birth). This document is accessible to the public. See Rule 
3.4 of the North Dakota Rules of Court for privacy protections for documents filed with the 
court. 

You must Exactly match the information you included in your Petition for Name Change of a 
Minor Child form. 

 Fill in the top part (caption) of the proposed Order Granting Name Change (Redacted) 
form: 

• Fill in the caption exactly like the caption of your Petition for Name Change of a Minor 
Child form. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-resources/rules/ndrct/3-4
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-resources/rules/ndrct/3-4
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 1. Fill in the first paragraph of the proposed Order Granting Name Change form:  

• Fill in the name of the City where you and the minor child live. 
• Fill in the name of the County where you and the minor child live. 
• Fill in your current full name. 
• Fill in the minor child’s current first, middle (if any), and last name. 
• Fill in the minor child’s requested first, middle (if any), and last name. 

 2. Fill in the minor child’s birth year only. 

 3. Skip Paragraph 3. 

 4. Fill in both boxes in Paragraph 4: 

• Fill in the minor child’s current first, middle (if any), and last name. 
• Fill in the minor child’s requested first, middle (if any), and last name. 

Stop!  Don’t date or sign this document. If the judge grants the name change, the judge will 

date and sign. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(This space left intentionally blank.) 
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Step 4: 

30 Days After Publication, File the Completed Forms and any Written 
Objections with the Clerk of District Court 

Contact information for clerks of district court is available at ndcourts.gov/court-locations. 

Two options for filing are provided. Follow A or B according to the steps you took above: 

 A. If you completed Step 1 and Step 2 and published notice in the newspaper(s), file 
originals of the following: 

• Petition For Name Change; 
• Declaration of Petitioner; 
• Confidential Information Form; 
• Notice of Petition for a Name Change; 
• Declaration(s) of Publication or Affidavit(s) of Publication (provided to you by the 

newspaper(s)); 
• Declaration of Service by Mail (for the Notice of Petition to non-custodial parent); 
• All written objections you received (if any);  
• (Proposed) Order Granting Change of Name (Confidential); and 
• (Proposed) Order Granting Change of Name (Redacted). 

**Make sure you have a copy of every document for your files! 

 B. If you didn’t publish notice in the newspaper (skipped Step 1) because you’re asking 
the court to waive publication, file originals of the following: 

• Petition For Name Change; 
• Declaration of Petitioner; 
• Confidential Information Form; 
• (Proposed) Order Granting Change of Name (Confidential); and 
• (Proposed) Order Granting Change of Name (Redacted). 

 **Make sure you have a copy of every document for your files! 

The filing fee is $80.00. If you’re unable to afford the $80.00 filing fee, forms and instructions 
to ask the court to waive the fee are available at ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/fee-waiver.  

File the completed fee waiver forms at the same time as your name change documents. 
**Make sure you have a copy of the completed fee waiver forms for your files!** 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/court-locations
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/fee-waiver
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If the Judge Doesn’t Waive Publication  

If you asked the judge to waive publication and the judge denies your request to waive the 
publication requirements, the court will notify you. 

• Go back and complete Step 1 and Step 2. 

• File the completed Notice of Petition for Name Change and Declaration of Publication or 
Affidavit of Publication with the court. 

• File the originals of all objections to the minor child’s name change you receive within 
30 calendar days of publishing the notice. Make copies of the objections for your 
records. 

Step 5: 

Get the Minor Child’s Criminal History Record Check 

Stop!  Only complete this step if the judge requires the minor child to get a criminal history 

recird check!! 

After you file the documents listed in Step 4, you’ll be notified by the court if a criminal history 
record check is required for the minor child. You’re required to pay all costs associated with the 
criminal history record check. 

If the judge requires the minor child to complete a criminal history background check, you may 
be directed to the following website to get the minor child’s criminal history background check: 
fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks. 

 

 

(This space left intentionally blank.) 

 

 

https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
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Step 6: 

The Judge Decides Whether to Grant the Name Change 

**If the judge requires a hearing: 

• A hearing isn’t required for petitions for name changes. However, the judge may decide a 
hearing is necessary. The Clerk of District Court will notify you with the date, time, and 
location of the hearing, if the judge decides a hearing is necessary. 

• If you’re required to attend a hearing, be prepared to prove everything you included in the 
Petition and Declaration forms. 

**If the minor child has a criminal history: 

• N.D.C.C. § 32-28-02(5) states “if the court issues a name change order for a petitioner who 
has criminal history in this or any other state, the court, within ten days after the issuance 
of the change of name order, shall report the name change to the bureau of criminal 
investigation.” 

The minor child’s name isn’t changed until the judge signs an Order granting the name change. 

Step 7: 

Request a Copy of the Confidential Order Granting Name Change 

If the judge grants the minor child’s name change, you’ll receive or will be mailed a copy of the 
signed and dated Order Granting Name Change. 

HOWEVER, a certified copy (or copies) of the Order Granting Name Change may be necessary 
to change the minor child’s name with agencies, businesses, other entities, etc. 

If a hearing is held, you can request the certified copies of the Order Granting Name Change 
from the Clerk of District Court’s Office before you leave the courthouse. If the Order is 
completed, you may be able to receive the copy that day. 

If a hearing isn’t held, you can request certified copies from the Clerk of District Court’s Office. 
Contact information is available at ndcourts.gov/court-locations. 

Make sure you request certified copies of the Confidential Order Granting Name Change. The 
Confidential Order Granting Name Change includes the minor child’s full birthdate. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/court-locations
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If you can’t get a certified copy of the Confidential Order Granting Name Change, get the 
following: 

• A certified copy of the Redacted Order Granting Name Change; and 
• A certified copy of the Confidential Information Form. 

If a certified copy of the Confidential Information Form isn’t attached to the Redacted Order 
Granting Name Change, North Dakota Vital Records won’t accept the Order Granting Name 
Change. 

Cost of certified copies: 

• $10 for the first certified copy; 
• $5 for each additional certified copy (if requested at the same time). 
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IN DISTRICT COURT, ___________________ COUNTY, STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA 

IN THE MATTER OF THE PETITION FOR NAME CHANGE OF 

_________________________________________, A MINOR CHILD 
 

NOTICE OF PETITION FOR NAME CHANGE 

1. PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that a Petition will be filed by the Petitioner with the above–

entitled court requesting an Order changing the name of (current full legal name of child) 

_________________________________________________________________ to (requested 

full legal name of child) __________________________________________________________. 

2. NOTICE IS FURTHER GIVEN that thirty days after publication, the Petitioner intends to 

file a petition requesting entry of the Court’s Order changing the name of the minor child. Any 

objection to granting this name change must be given in writing to the address listed below 

within 30 days of the date of this publication. The written objection must also be filed with the 

Court. If no objections are given, the Court may respond to the Petition without further 

hearing. 

Dated  _____________________________________. 

_______________________________________________________ 
(Petitioner Signature) 

_______________________________________________________ 
(Printed Name) 

_______________________________________________________ 
(Address) 

_______________________________________________________ 
(City, State Zip Code) 
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IN DISTRICT COURT, ____________________________ COUNTY, STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA 

Case No. ____________________________ 

IN THE MATTER OF THE PETITION FOR NAME CHANGE OF 

_____________________________________________, A MINOR CHILD 
              (child’s current first, middle (if any), and last legal name) 

DECLARATION OF SERVICE BY MAIL 
(A separate affidavit is required for each person served.) 

The person serving court documents by mail states: 

1. My name is          (person who mailed 

documents). I am at least 18 years of age. 

2. List of Court Documents Served: 

• Notice of Petition for Name Change.  
 

3. Service by Mail: 

 I served a true and correct copy of the court document listed in Paragraph 2 by mailing 

it, enclosed in an envelope, by First-Class mail, postage prepaid, and by depositing it in the 

United States Mail, directed to the person listed in Paragraph 5. 

4. Date and Post Office Location of Service by Mail: 

Date Court Documents Were Served by Mail:         

United States Post Office Location:  
 
              
(city)          (county)           (state) 
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5. Person or Person Served by Mail: 

Name of Person Served:           

Mailing Address:            

City, State, Zip Code:           

6. I declare, under penalty of perjury under the law of North Dakota, that everything I 

stated in this Declaration of Service by Mail is true and correct. 

 Signed on _________________________ (date) in _________________________ (city),  

________________________ (county), __________(state), _____________________ (country). 

_____________________________________________ 
(Signature) 

_____________________________________________ 
(Printed Name) 

_____________________________________________ 
(Address) 

_____________________________________________ 
 (City, State, Zip Code) 

_____________________________________________ 
(Telephone Number) 

_____________________________________________ 
(Email Address) 
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IN DISTRICT COURT, ___________________________ COUNTY, NORTH DAKOTA 

Case No. ________________________ 

 
IN THE MATTER OF THE PETITION FOR NAME CHANGE OF 

____________________________________________, A MINOR CHILD 
    (child’s current first, middle (if any), and last legal name) 
 

PETITION 

 
1. Pursuant to North Dakota Century Code (N.D.C.C.) Section 32-28-02, 

_____________________________________________________ (petitioner’s first, middle (if 

any), and last legal name), Petitioner, respectfully petitions the Court for a change of name of 

the minor child (child’s current full legal name): 

Current First name  

Current Middle name(s) (if any)  

Current Last name  

and respectfully states to the Court as follows: 

2. Petitioner’s relationship to the minor child is ___________________________________. 

3. The minor child currently resides with Petitioner at the Petitioner’s home at  

___________________________________________ (address)  _____________________ (city)  

___________________________ County, North Dakota, ___________ (zip code). 

4. The minor child has been a resident of ________________________ County, North 

Dakota, for more than six months immediately preceding this petition. 

5. The minor child (choose one)  is a United States citizen (OR)  is a permanent resident 

alien of the United States. 

https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c28.pdf#nameddest=32-28-02
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6. The minor child was born in the year ________ (list birth year only) and is less than 18 

years of age. 

7. Petitioner requests the Court change the minor child’s name to (child’s requested legal 

name): 

Requested First name  

Requested Middle name(s) (if any)  

Requested Last name  

8. The reasons Petitioner is seeking a name change for the minor child are stated in the 

Declaration of Petitioner, which is filed with this Petition for Name Change and incorporated by 

reference. 

9. The Petitioner states that the appointment of a guardian ad litem, as allowed under 

N.D.C.C. Section 32-28-02, is unnecessary given the facts of this petition, which are stated in the 

Declaration of Petitioner.  

10. Notice (choose one; Paragraph 10 continues on Page 3): 

 The Notice of Petition for Name Change was published on ______________________ (date), 

in the ____________________________________________ (name of newspaper), the official 

newspaper in ________________________ County, North Dakota, where the minor child 

resides. The affidavit of publication is filed with the court. 

AND (choose one; checkboxes continue on Page 3. A non-custodial parent is a parent with less 

than 50% of the residential responsibility): 

 The minor child does not have a non-custodial parent. 
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 The minor child has a non-custodial parent. A Notice of Petition for Name Change was 

published on ___________________________ (date), in the 

____________________________________________ (name of newspaper), the official 

newspaper in _______________________ County, _________ (state), where the minor 

child’s non-custodial parent resides. The affidavit of publication is filed with the court.  

A copy of the Notice of Petition for Name Change was mailed to the non-custodial parent’s 

last reasonably ascertained post-office address on _____________________________ 

(date). The notice was mailed from the post office in ________________________ (city), 

North Dakota. The declaration of service by mail is filed with the court.  

(OR) 

 Petitioner requests that the court waive publication of the Notice of Petition for Name 

Change because (a judge MAY waive publication of the Notice. If you want the judge to waive 

the publication of the Notice of Petition for Name Change, check the reason or reasons below): 

 Petitioner only requests a change of a first or middle name. 

 Petitioner is a victim of domestic violence as defined in N.D.C.C. § 14-07.1-01. A detailed 

statement is provided in the declaration accompanying this petition. 

11. Objections to Petition for Name Change (choose one; Paragraph 11 continues on Page 

4): 

 No written objections to the Petition for Name Change were given to the Petitioner within 

thirty (30) days of publication of the Notice of Petition for Name Change. 

(OR) 

 Written objections to the Petition for Name Change were given to the Petitioner. The 

written objections accompany this petition. 
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(OR) 

 Petitioner is requesting that the court waive publication of the Notice of Petition for Name 

Change. Notice of the petition has not been published. 

12. Petitioner does not wish to change the name of the minor child for any fraudulent, 

illegal, or immoral purpose, such as to avoid any type of debt or other obligation, or to avoid 

criminal prosecution. 

13. Petitioner believes it to be in the best interests of the minor child for their name to be 

changed. A detailed statement is provided in the declaration accompanying this petition. 

14. There is no just cause to deny this Petition for Name Change. 

15. WHEREFORE, Petitioner requests that the Court enter an order granting that the name 

of the minor child be changed from the child’s current name, which is listed in Paragraph 1, to 

the requested name, which is listed in Paragraph 7. 

Dated _________________________________. 

_____________________________________________, Petitioner 
(Petitioner’s Signature) 

_____________________________________________ 
(Printed Name of Petitioner) 

______________________________________________________________________________ 
(Address)       (City, State, Zip Code) 

______________________________________________________________________________ 
(Telephone Number)     (Email Address) 
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IN DISTRICT COURT,               COUNTY, NORTH DAKOTA 

Case No. _________________________ 

IN THE MATTER OF THE PETITION FOR NAME CHANGE OF 

__________________________________________, A MINOR CHILD 
          (child’s current first, middle (if any), and last legal name) 

DECLARATION OF PETITIONER 

I, ______________________________________________ (petitioner’s first, middle (if 

any), and last legal name), the Petitioner, state that the following is true to the best of my 

knowledge: 

1. I am the Petitioner and my first, middle (if any), and last legal name is 

_____________________________________________________________________________. 

2. My relationship to the minor child is _________________________________________. 

3. The first, middle (if any), and last legal name of the minor child’s other parent is 

_____________________________________________ and their last reasonably ascertained 

post office address is: ____________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________. 

4. The other parent (choose one)  is a non-custodial parent (OR)  is not a non-custodial 

parent. (Non-custodial means a parent with less than 50% of the residential responsibility.) 

5. The minor child (choose one)  is a United States citizen (OR)  is a permanent 

resident alien of the United States. (The minor child must be either a citizen or a permanent 

resident alien of the United States.) 
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6. The minor child’s current full, legal name is: 

Current First name  

Current Middle name(s) (if any)  

Current Last name  

7. The minor child was born in the year (list birth year only) ___________ in (if a U.S. 

citizen, list city and state; if a U.S. permanent resident alien, list city and country) 

_____________________________________________________________________________. 

8. The minor child currently resides with me at my home in _________________________ 

County, North Dakota, and the minor child has been a resident of this County for more than six 

months immediately preceding the date of the Petition for Name Change. 

9. I petition for a name change for the minor child from (current legal name): 

Current First name  

Current Middle name(s) (if any)  

Current Last name  

to (requested legal name): 

Requested First name  

Requested Middle name(s) (if any)  

Requested Last name  

for the following reasons (state reasons a name change is in the child’s best interests; 

Paragraph 9 continues on Page 3): 

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________
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______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________. 

 Additional sheets attached for Paragraph 9. 
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10. Notice (choose the same checkbox as Paragraph 10 of your Petition; Paragraph 10 

continues on Page 3): 

 The Notice of Petition for Name Change was published on _____________________ (date) 

in the ____________________________________________ (name of newspaper), the official 

newspaper in ________________________ County, North Dakota, where the minor child 

resides. The affidavit of publication is filed with the court. 

AND (choose the same checkbox as Paragraph 10 of your Petition. A non-custodial parent is a 

parent with less than 50% of the residential responsibility): 

 The minor child does not have a non-custodial parent. 

 The minor child has a non-custodial parent. A Notice of Petition for Name Change was 

published on ___________________________ (date) in the 

____________________________________________ (name of newspaper), the official 

newspaper in _______________________ County, _________ (state), where the minor 

child’s non-custodial parent resides. The affidavit of publication is filed with the court.  

A copy of the Notice of Petition for Name Change was mailed to the non-custodial parent’s 

last reasonably ascertained post-office address on _________________________ (date). The 

notice was deposited in the post office in _________________________________ (city), 

North Dakota. The declaration of service by mail is filed with the court.  

(OR) 

 I am requesting the court waive publication of the Notice of Petition for Name Change 

because (choose the same checkbox(es) as Paragraph 10 of your Petition): 

 I am only requesting a change of the first and/or middle name of the minor child. 

 I am a victim of domestic violence as defined in N.D.C.C. § 14-07.1-01 (Explain on the next 

page). 
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__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________. 

 Additional sheets attached for Paragraph 10. 

I understand that if the court does not waive publication of the Notice of Petition for Name 

Change, I must provide notice and proof of notice to the court as required by N.D.C.C. 

Chapter 32-28. 
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11. Objections to Petition for Name Change (choose the same checkbox as Paragraph 11 of 

your Petition): 

 No written objections to the Petition for Name Change were given to me within thirty (30) 

days of publication of the Notice of Petition for Name Change. 

(OR) 

 Written objections to the Petition for Name Change were given to me by the following 

people (list objector’s name and relationship to minor child): 

______________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________. 

(OR) 

 I am requesting that the court waive publication of the Notice of Petition for Name Change. 

Notice of the petition has not been published. 

12. I am petitioning for the name change of my minor child in good faith. I am not 

requesting a name change for any fraudulent, illegal, or immoral purpose. The requested name 

change of my minor child will not cause injury to any individual or compromise public safety.  

13. I declare, under penalty of perjury under the law of North Dakota, that everything I 

stated in this Declaration is true and correct. 

 Signed on _________________________ (date) in _________________________ (city),  

________________________ (county), __________(state), _____________________ (country). 

_____________________________________________, Petitioner 
(Petitioner’s Signature) 

_____________________________________________ 
(Printed Name of Petitioner) 

______________________________________________________________________________ 
(Address)       (City, State, Zip Code) 

______________________________________________________________________________ 
(Telephone Number)     (Email Address) 
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IN DISTRICT COURT, COUNTY OF _____________________, STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA 

Case No. __________________ 

IN THE MATTER OF THE PETITION FOR NAME CHANGE OF 
 

_______________________________________________, A MINOR CHILD 
    (child’s current first, middle (if any), and last legal name) 

CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION FORM 

Minor Child’s current full, legal name: 

First name  

Middle name(s) (if any)  

Last name  

   

FULL INFORMATION      REDACTED INFORMATION 

Date of Birth: ________________________________ Year of Birth: ___________ 
 

Dated ___________________________________. 

_______________________________________________, Petitioner 
(Petitioner’s Signature) 

_______________________________________________ 
(Printed Name of Petitioner)  

_______________________________________________ 
(Address)  

_______________________________________________ 
(City, State, Zip Code) 

_______________________________________________ 
(Telephone Number)  

_______________________________________________ 
(Email Address) 
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IN DISTRICT COURT, COUNTY OF ________________, STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA 

Case No. _______________________ 

IN THE MATTER OF THE PETITION FOR NAME CHANGE OF 

_____________________________________________, A MINOR CHILD 
                (child’s current first, middle (if any), and last legal  name) 

ORDER GRANTING CHANGE OF NAME 
(Confidential) 

 
1. The above-entitled matter came before this court in the City of ____________________, 

County of __________________________, North Dakota, upon a Petition of 

___________________________________________ (petitioner’s first, middle (if any) and last 

legal name) for a change of name for their minor child from (current name): 

First name  

Middle name(s) (if any)  

Last name  

to (requested name): 

First name  

Middle name(s) (if any)  

Last name  

2. The minor child’s birth date is ______________________ (month, day, and year).  

3. It appears to the satisfaction of the Court that the Petition is in proper form and that the 

allegations, matters, and facts stated therein are true, and that there exists proper and 

reasonable cause for changing the minor child’s name. 
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NOW THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the Petition for Name Change is 

GRANTED. 

4. The minor child’s name (minor child’s current name): 

First name  

Middle name(s) (if any)  

Last name  

is changed to (minor child’s new name): 

First name  

Middle name(s) (if any)  

Last name  

BY THE COURT: 

 

      __________________________________ 
Judge of the District Court 
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IN DISTRICT COURT, COUNTY OF ________________, STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA 

Case No. _______________________ 

IN THE MATTER OF THE PETITION FOR NAME CHANGE OF 

_____________________________________________, A MINOR CHILD 
                (child’s current first, middle (if any), and last legal  name) 

ORDER GRANTING CHANGE OF NAME 
(Redacted) 

 
1. The above-entitled matter came before this court in the City of ____________________, 

County of __________________________, North Dakota, upon a Petition of 

___________________________________________ (petitioner’s first, middle (if any) and last 

legal name) for a change of name for their minor child from (current name): 

First name  

Middle name(s) (if any)  

Last name  

to (requested name): 

First name  

Middle name(s) (if any)  

Last name  

2. The minor child’s birth year is _________ (year of birth only). The minor child’s full 

birthdate is listed on the Confidential Information Form filed in this case and incorporated by 

reference. 
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3. It appears to the satisfaction of the Court that the Petition is in proper form and that the 

allegations, matters, and facts stated therein are true, and that there exists proper and 

reasonable cause for changing the minor child’s name. 

NOW THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the Petition for Name Change is 

GRANTED. 

4. The minor child’s name (minor child’s current name): 

First name  

Middle name(s) (if any)  

Last name  

is changed to (minor child’s new name): 

First name  

Middle name(s) (if any)  

Last name  

BY THE COURT: 

 

      __________________________________ 
Judge of the District Court 


