
NDLSHC Page 1 of 18 Stip DWC Instructions/Rev Feb 2024 

Instructions for Filing for Divorce Together – With Children  

Important! Read Before Using this Packet of Forms. 

ND Legal Self Help staff and court employees can’t help you fill out the form(s). If you’re 
unsure if these forms and instructions suit your circumstances, consult a lawyer. 

ND Legal Self Help Center forms aren’t official court forms. Judges and courts aren’t required 
to accept them. There’s no guarantee Center forms will be accepted. Use at your own risk. 

If you need legal advice or legal representation, consult a lawyer licensed to practice in 
North Dakota. Go to ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer for information about finding a 
lawyer to represent you. 

When you represent yourself, you’re expected to know and follow the law, including: 

• State or federal laws that apply to your case, which include, 
o Chapter 14-05 of the North Dakota Century Code governing divorce; 
o Chapter 14-09 of the North Dakota Century Code governing custody, visitation, and 

child support; and 
o Chapter 14-14.1 of the North Dakota Century Code governing jurisdiction; 

• Case law, also called court opinions, that applies to your case; and 
• Court rules that apply to your case, which may include: 

o North Dakota Rules of Civil Procedure; 
o North Dakota Rules of Court; 
o North Dakota Rules of Evidence; 
o North Dakota Administrative Rules and Orders; and 
o Any local court rules. 

Links to the state laws, case law, and court rules are available at ndcourts.gov. 

A glossary with definitions of legal terms is available at ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help. 

When you represent yourself, you’re held to the same requirements and responsibilities 
as a lawyer, even if you don’t understand the rules or procedures. 

These instructions and forms aren’t a complete statement of the law. They cover the basic 
procedure for spouses to file for divorce together in a North Dakota State District Court. The forms 
packet is for spouses with children who agree 100% in writing to all issues related to the divorce. 

There’s no guarantee that all judges and courts will accept forms available through the ND Legal Self 
Help Center. The Center isn’t responsible for any consequences that may result from the forms or 

information provided. Use these forms and instructions at your own risk. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t14c05.html
https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t14c09.html
https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t14c14-1.html
http://www.ndcourts.gov/
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help
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Who May Use This Packet of Forms? 

You and your spouse may use these forms Only if All of the following 

statements are True. 

1. You and your spouse are currently in communication with each other. 

2. You and your spouse agree on All issues. Both spouses must date and sign Forms 3, 
4 & 5. (See Forms 3, 4, & 5 for the issues that you both must agree to in writing.) 

3. The spouse listed as Plaintiff has lived in North Dakota for the past six months. 

4. All of the minor children have lived in North Dakota with a spouse for at least the 
past 6 months (or since birth); *Or* Within the past 6 months, North Dakota was the 
home state of all of the children And one spouse still lives in North Dakota. 

5. This is the only legal action in North Dakota, any other state, or tribe between you 
and your spouse regarding the marriage or your minor children. 

6. The reason for your divorce is irreconcilable differences (no-fault by either spouse). 

7. Neither you nor your spouse are currently in the military; *Or* one or both spouses 
are currently in the military but not deploying or deployed. 

8. There’s No domestic violence protection order or disorderly conduct restraining 
order currently in effect regarding either spouse. 

Before You Begin, Review Forms 3, 4 & 5 

Before you begin the steps for this packet of forms, review the Settlement Agreement 
(Form 3), Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property and Debts and Values (Form 4), and 
Exhibit B: Parenting Plan (Form 5). 

Form 3, Form 4 and Form 5 make up the full (100%) written agreement for your 
divorce. If you believe that you and your spouse can reach a full agreement on every 
paragraph of Form 3, Form 4 and Form 5, continue. 

If you don’t believe that you and your spouse can reach an agreement on every 
paragraph of Form 3, Form 4 and Form 5, Stop! You can’t use this packet of forms.   

Go to ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/divorce for all other divorce forms and resources 
available through the ND Legal Self Help Center. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/divorce
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Forms Suitable for Uncomplicated Divorces Only 

This packet of forms is only for divorces involving common and uncomplicated 
circumstances. 

If this packet of forms doesn’t work for you, Stop! You need to create your own documents, or 
retain a lawyer to create the documents for you. 

You Must Calculate Child Support 

Since your divorce includes minor or dependent children, you’re required to calculate 
child support. You must calculate child support even if you and your spouse have agreements 
between yourselves related to child support. 

If you don’t want to establish child support as part of your divorce, you still must 
complete the child support calculations. The judge or judicial referee decides whether it’s 
in the best interests of the children to waive, or stay, your child support payments. 

If you plan to ask the judge or judicial referee to allow you to pay a different amount 
of child support than the child support calculations say, you must prove you meet one of 
the limited exceptions for paying a different amount. You must also prove paying a different 
amount is in the best interests of the children. 

You may be able to apply for services with North Dakota Child Support. If your 
application for full services is approved by North Dakota Child Support, they can help to 
establish an order for child support and medical support in a separate child support case. 

Dividing Individual Pension or Retirement Plans (QDRO’s) 

Read this section if the you and your spouse are planning to divide individual pension 
or retirement plans between the you. 

If neither spouse has pension nor retirement plans, Or the spouses will keep their own pension 
or retirement plans, without dividing an individual plan, skip this section. 

Dividing pension plans and retirement accounts is extremely complicated. You and your 
spouse are responsible for making sure these assets are divided, which requires a separate 
court order to divide these assets. 

https://www.childsupport.dhs.nd.gov/
https://www.childsupport.dhs.nd.gov/
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The separate court order is called a qualified domestic relations order (QDRO). You and 
your spouse are responsible for getting the proposed QDRO and presenting the proposed 
QDRO to the judge or judicial referee. The judge or judicial referee won’t draft a QDRO 
document or an order including a QDRO. 

See Step Six for more information about how to get a proposed QDRO before you file this 
completed forms packet with the clerk of court. 

***The ND Legal Self Help Center Doesn’t have QDRO forms or instructions and Can’t help you 
draft or obtain a QDRO. Consult a lawyer when dividing a retirement asset!*** 

Caution Regarding Domestic Violence 

Domestic violence protection orders and disorderly conduct restraining orders generally don’t 
allow communication between the person protected by the order and the person the order is 
against.   

This packet of forms is for spouses who represent themselves and agree In Writing on All 
issues related to the divorce. The spouses Must communicate with each other to share 
information, make decisions and complete the forms before filing with the Clerk of court. If 
there’s a domestic violence protection order or disorderly conduct restraining order in effect 
against either spouse, you Can’t use these forms. 

If there’s no domestic violence protection order or disorderly conduct restraining order in 
effect, but you’re concerned about the impact of domestic violence on you, this packet of 
forms may not be suitable. 

Before using this packet of forms, consult a lawyer and to contact a domestic violence 
intervention center in your area to help you navigate your situation. 

CAWS North Dakota can help you find a domestic violence intervention center in your area.  
The phone number is (888) 255-6240; the website is cawsnorthdakota.org. 

 

 

(This space left intentionally blank.) 

 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
http://www.cawsnorthdakota.org/
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Who Are the Parties in Your Divorce? 

The spouse starting the divorce case is the Plaintiff. The spouse listed as Plaintiff in your 
divorce case must have lived in North Dakota for the past six months. 

The other spouse is the Defendant. 

If neither you nor your spouse have lived in North Dakota for the past six months, Stop! You 
can’t use this packet of forms. Consult a lawyer for help. 

11 Forms for Filing for Divorce Together – With Children 

*Each individual form includes instructions to complete the form.* 

10 Forms You and Your Spouse Must Complete Before Filing for Divorce Together 

Form Title Description 

Form 1: Summons 

(Plaintiff completes) 

Notifies the Defendant that the Plaintiff started the process for a 
divorce. A summons is required for every divorce, even when the 
spouses are in 100% agreement. 

The summons must be signed and dated by the clerk of court to 
be valid. 

Form 2: Complaint 

(Plaintiff completes) 

Gives the judge or judicial referee information about the Plaintiff 
and Defendant, and their children. Tells the judge or judicial 
referee what the Plaintiff is asking for from the judge or judicial 
referee. A complaint is required for every divorce, even when the 
spouses are in 100% agreement. 

Form 3: Settlement 
Agreement 

(Plaintiff & Defendant 
complete) 

A written and signed agreement of the Plaintiff and Defendant 
deciding 100% of All issues of the divorce and the parenting 
rights and responsibilities to the minor child(ren). 

After completing Form 3, Plaintiff and Defendant must each sign 
in the presence of a notary public or clerk of court. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
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10 Forms You and Your Spouse Must Complete Before Filing for Divorce Together 

Form Title Description 

Form 4: Exhibit A: 
Confidential Division of 
Property & Debt & 
Values 

(Plaintiff & Defendant 
complete) 

Lists the assets and debts of the marriage, as well as the agreed 
upon values of the assets and outstanding amount of each debt.  
Divides each asset and debt of the marriage between the 
spouses. 

After completing Form 4, Plaintiff and Defendant must each sign 
in the presence of a notary public or clerk of court. 

This form is a part of the court record that isn’t seen by the 
public. 

Form 5: Exhibit B: 
Parenting Plan 

(Plaintiff & Defendant 
complete) 

Divorces involving children require a parenting plan. Lists the full 
agreement of the Plaintiff and Defendant regarding parenting 
rights and responsibilities. The agreement must be based on the 
best interests of the children, not the spouses. 

Both Plaintiff and Defendant must sign in the presence of a 
notary public or clerk of court. 

Form 6: Confidential 
Information Form 

(Plaintiff & Defendant 
complete) 

Lists the full confidential information that isn’t allowed to appear 
in other documents filed with the court. 

This form is a part of the court record that isn’t seen by the 
public. 

Form 7: Admission of 
Service 

(Defendant completes) 

Proof that copies of the completed Form 1, Form 2, Form 3, 
Form 4, Form 5, Form 6, Form 8, Form 9, and Form 10 were 
delivered to and accepted by the Defendant. 

After the Defendant dates and signs the Admission of Service, 
the Summons and Complaint are served, which officially starts 
the divorce case. 

Form 8: Affidavit of Proof 
for Stipulated Judgment 

(Plaintiff completes) 

 

The Plaintiff’s written and signed statement of the facts and the 
court’s authority (jurisdiction) to decide the action.   

Plaintiff must sign in the presence of a notary public or clerk of 
court.   
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10 Forms You and Your Spouse Must Complete Before Filing for Divorce Together 

Form Title Description 

Form 9: Findings of Fact, 
Conclusions of Law and 
Order for Judgment 
(Proposed) 

(Complete using Form 3) 

Findings of Fact are the judge or judicial referee’s written 
determination of the facts made from the evidence presented. 
Conclusions of Law are the rulings of law made by the Judge or 
judicial referee or judicial referee based on, or in connection 
with, the Findings of Fact. These are your proposed findings of 
fact and conclusions of law, which are based on the Settlement 
Agreement. 

Form 10: Judgment 
(Proposed) 

(Complete using Form 3) 

A written order of the judge or judicial referee’s decision. The 
divorce isn’t granted until the judgment is signed and filed. This 
is your proposed judgment, which is based on the Settlement 
Agreement. 

 

1 Form Plaintiff Must Complete After the Divorce is Granted 

Form Title Description 

Form 11: Notice of Entry 
of Judgment  

(Plaintiff completes) 

A required notice from the Plaintiff to the Defendant. Served on 
the Defendant within 14 days after the divorce judgment is 
signed and filed. 

All of the Forms Must be Filled out Completely!! 

Don’t leave any of the paragraphs within the forms unanswered. 

If a section of the form doesn’t apply to you, type or write “N/A” or “Not Applicable.” Type or 
write $0.00 if a dollar amount doesn’t apply to you. 

If a form isn’t completely filled out, it could result in the clerk not accepting the forms for filing, 
or the court may send the form back to you to complete. It could also mean the judge or 
judicial referee will require you and your spouse to attend a hearing to answer why there are 
blanks in the form.  

Follow and Carefully Read All Instructions! In the instructions for each form there are 
checkboxes () before each step. Check each box as you finish the step. Don’t go to the next 
step until the previous step is completed. 
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Step One: 
Review All Forms and Instructions; Gather Information and Make Decisions 

 Review All of the forms and instructions: 

Read these instructions carefully. Review the All of the individual forms and their instructions 
carefully.  Decide if the forms apply to your situation. If you don’t know if you should use this 
packet of forms, consult a lawyer licensed to practice in North Dakota. 

 Gather information and Make Decisions: 

You and your spouse must gather information to help you make decisions about the following: 

• Dividing marital property and debts. 
o Make a list of all assets and debts, including value of each asset and amount of 

each debt. 
• Residential responsibility of the minor child(ren). (Also called custody.) 
• Parenting time, including scheduling. (Also called visitation.) 
• Decision making responsibility for the minor child(ren). 
• Child support, including wages and other earnings information. 
• Medical coverage, including health insurance premiums, copays, deductibles, etc. 

 Complete your child support calculations: 

If you already have a Child Support Order, get a copy of the Order to include with the 
completed packet of forms. You don’t need new child support calculations. 

If you don’t already have a Child Support Order, you need to complete your child support 
calculations Before your or your spouse sign the Settlement Agreement. If you don’t want to 
establish child support at this time, Stop! You can’t use this packet of forms. 

Warning: If you attempt to file this packet of forms without completing the child support 
calculations, the judge or judicial referee will either require you to complete the calculations 
before making a decision on your divorce case, or dismiss your divorce case entirely. 

The Child Support Division of the North Dakota Department of Human Services created and 
provides support for the Child Support Guidelines Calculator. 

Go to childsupport.dhs.nd.gov/partners/lawyers/child-support-guidelines.  

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
https://www.childsupport.dhs.nd.gov/partners/lawyers/child-support-guidelines


NDLSHC Page 9 of 18 Stip DWC Instructions/Rev Feb 2024 

If the parents will have equal residential responsibility, you must calculate child support 
amounts for both parents. 

If one parent will have primary residential responsibility (more than 50% of the residential 
responsibility), you must calculate the child support amount for the parent with less than 50% 
of the residential responsibility. 

Warning: If you plan to ask the judge or judicial referee to allow a parent to pay a different 
amount of child support than the Child Support Guidelines Calculator amount, consult a lawyer 
for help. The Calculator amount is presumed to be the correct amount of child support. The 
parent asking for a different amount then the Calculator amount must prove they meet one of 
the limited exceptions for deviation, and the deviation is in the best interests of the child(ren).  
See North Dakota Century Code Section 14-09-09.7 and North Dakota Administrative Code 
Section 75-02-04.1-09. 

Court personnel and staff of the ND Legal Self Help Center Can’t help you with your child 
support calculations. 

You may be able to apply for services with North Dakota Child Support (701-328-5440; 800-231-
4255). If your application for full services is approved by North Dakota Child Support, they can 
help to establish an order for child support and medical support in a separate child support 
case. 

Step Two: 
You and Your Spouse Complete the Settlement Agreement (Form 3), Exhibit A: 
Confidential Division of Property and Debt and Values (Form 4), and Exhibit B: 
Parenting Plan (Form 5) 

You and your spouse work together to complete these forms. 

Instructions for completing the Settlement Agreement (Form 3), Exhibit A: Confidential Division 
of Property and Debt and Values (Form 4), and Exhibit B: Parenting Plan (Form 5)are attached 
to each form. 

 Fill out the Settlement Agreement (Form 3), Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property 
and Debt and Values (Form 4), and Exhibit B: Parenting Plan (Form 5) Only if you and your 
spouse agree on all issues in each form. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t14c09.pdf#nameddest=14-09-09p7
https://ndlegis.gov/information/acdata/pdf/75-02-04.1.pdf
https://ndlegis.gov/information/acdata/pdf/75-02-04.1.pdf
https://www.childsupport.dhs.nd.gov/
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You make copies of the completed Settlement Agreement (Form 3), Exhibit A: Confidential 
Division of Property and Debt and Values (Form 4), and Exhibit B: Parenting Plan (Form 5) in 
Step 9. 

Stop! You can’t use this set of forms if both spouses haven’t signed the Settlement 
Agreement (Form 3), the Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property and Debt and Values (Form 
4), And the Exhibit B: Parenting Plan (Form 5) in the presence of a notary public or clerk of 
court. You haven’t reached a 100% agreement on All issues. 

Step Three: 
The Plaintiff Completes the Summons (Form 1) 

The spouse listed as Plaintiff completes this form. 

Instructions for completing the Summons (Form 1) are attached to the form. 

Filling out this form is required even though you and your spouse agree to the divorce. 

 Fill out the Summons (Form 1): 

You go to the Clerk of Court’s Office in Step 9 and ask the clerk of court to sign and date the 
summons. The summons must be signed and dated by the clerk of court to be valid. 

You make copies of the completed Summons (Form 1) in Step 9. 

Step Four: 
The Plaintiff Completes the Complaint (Form 2) 

The spouse listed as Plaintiff completes this form. 

Instructions for completing the Complaint (Form 2) are attached to the form. 

Filling out this form is required even though you and your spouse agree to the divorce. 

 Fill out the Complaint (Form 2): 

You make Copies of the completed Complaint (Form 2) in Step 9. 
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Step Five: 
You and Your Spouse Complete the Confidential Information Form (Form 6) 

You and your spouse work together to complete this form. 

Instructions for completing the Confidential Property are attached to the form. 

 Fill out the Confidential Information Form (Form 6): 

You make copies of the completed Confidential Information Form (Form 6) in Step 9. 

Step Six (Optional): 
Get a Proposed Qualified Domestic Relations Order (QDRO) 

Complete this section Only if you and your spouse are dividing individual pension or 
retirement plans between the spouses. 

If neither spouse has pension nor retirement plans, Or the spouses keep their own pension and 
retirement plans, Without dividing an individual plan, skip this step. 

Caution! Individual Courts may have a Differently Ordered Process 
And/Or Additional Requirements to the QDRO Process! 

The QDRO process is extremely complicated. The information that follows is the basic process 
for QDROs. However, there are many possible variations to this process. 

Individual state district courts may require you to follow a differently ordered process than 
the basic process that follows. Individual state district courts may have additional requirements 

to those that follow. 

If you need assistance, consult a lawyer licensed to practice in North Dakota. ND Legal Self 
Help Center staff Can’t provide any assistance beyond the information below.  

Dividing pension plans and retirement accounts is extremely complicated. You and your 
spouse are responsible for making sure these assets are divided, which requires a separate 
court order to divide these assets. 

The separate court order is called a qualified domestic relations order (QDRO) and you and 
your spouse are responsible for getting a proposed QDRO and presenting the proposed QDRO 
to the judge or judicial referee. The judge or judicial referee won’t draft a QDRO document or 
an order including a QDRO. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
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For more information about QDRO’s, go to dol.gov/agencies/ebsa/workers-and-
families/separation-and-divorce and scroll to the “Retirement” section. 

If Plaintiff’s plan will be divided, the Plaintiff is responsible for obtaining the proposed QDRO. 

If Defendant’s plan will be divided, the Defendant is responsible for obtaining the proposed 
QDRO. 

Contact the plan administrator early in the process. Some plan administrators have sample 
QDRO documents for you to follow when drafting your own QDRO.   

Don’t sign the proposed QDRO. The QDRO is signed by the judge or judicial referee. 

Make a copy of all proposed QDRO(s) for your records. The original proposed QDRO(s) are 
filed in Step 11. 

***The ND Legal Self Help Center Doesn’t have QDRO forms or instructions and Can’t help 
you draft or obtain a QDRO. Consulting a lawyer is strongly recommended when dividing a 
pension or retirement asset! Even if you use a plan administrator’s form, you may want a 
lawyer to advise whether you’re giving up any important benefits.*** 

Step Seven: 
The Plaintiff Completes the Affidavit of Proof for Stipulated Judgment (Form 8) 

The spouse listed as Plaintiff completes this form. 

Instructions for completing the Affidavit of Proof for Stipulated Judgment are attached to the 
form. 

 Fill out the Affidavit of Proof for Stipulated Judgment (Form 8). 

This packet of forms is designed to be presented to a North Dakota state district court judge or 
judicial referee without requiring a hearing. Evidence is presented by an affidavit of proof, 
which is the Plaintiff’s written statement of the facts of the divorce. 

The judge or judicial referee may still decide to hold a hearing before making a final decision. 

You make a copy of the completed Affidavit of Proof for Stipulated Judgment (Form 8) in Step 9. 

 

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/ebsa/workers-and-families/separation-and-divorce
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/ebsa/workers-and-families/separation-and-divorce
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Step Eight: 
You and Your Spouse Complete the Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and 
Order for Judgment (Form 9) and the Judgment (Form 10) 

You and your spouse work together to complete these forms. 

Instructions for filling out the Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order for Judgment are 
attached to the form. 

 Fill out the Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order for Judgment (Form 9). 

Instructions for filling out the Judgment are attached to the form. 

 Fill out the Judgment (Form 10) 

You make copies of the completed Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order for Judgment 
(Form 9) and the Judgment (Form 10) in Step 9. 

Step Nine: 
Get Signatures; Make Copies of Completed Forms 

All of the Forms Must be Filled out Completely!! 

Make sure all of the paragraphs within the forms are answered. 

If a section of the form doesn’t apply to you, type or write “N/A” or “Not Applicable.” Type or 
write $0.00 if a dollar amount doesn’t apply to you. 

If a form isn’t completely filled out, it could result in the clerk not accepting the forms for filing, 
or the court may send the form back to you to complete. It could also mean the judge or 
judicial referee will require you and your spouse to attend a hearing to answer why there are 
blanks in the form.  

Sign Forms And Get Signatures: 

 The spouse listed as Plaintiff must make sure the Summons (Form 1) is signed by the clerk 
of court. 

The Plaintiff also signs and fills in their information on the Summons (Form 1). 
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 The spouse listed as Plaintiff must complete and sign the following forms: 

1. Complaint (Form 2); and 
2. Affidavit of Proof for Stipulated Judgment (Form 8), which must be signed in the 

presence of a notary public or clerk of court. 

 Both spouses must complete the following forms and sign them in the presence of a 
notary public or clerk of court: 

1. Settlement Agreement (Form 3); 
2. Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property and Debts and Values (Form 4); 
3. Exhibit B: Parenting Plan (Form 5) 

 Both spouses must complete and sign the following form: 

1. Confidential Information Form (Form 6). 

Make Copies of Forms: 

 After getting all signatures as indicated above, make 2 copies of the following: 

1. Summons (Form 1); 
2. Complaint (Form 2); 
3. Settlement Agreement (Form 3); 
4. Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property and Debts and Values (Form 4); 
5. Exhibit B: Parenting Plan (Form 5); 
6. Confidential Information Form (Form 6); 
7. Affidavit of Proof for Stipulated Judgment (Form 8); 
8. Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order for Judgment (Form 9) – Not Signed; and 
9. Judgment (Form 10) – Not Signed. 

 Keep one copy for your records. 

You give the other copy to the Defendant in Step 10. You file the originals with the Clerk of 
court in Step 11. 

 

 

(This space left intentionally blank.) 
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Step Ten: 
Give Copies of Completed Forms to Defendant; Defendant Completes the 
Admission of Service (Form 7) 

 The spouse listed as Plaintiff gives one copy of each form to the Defendant as follows: 

1. Summons (Form 1) 
• Must be signed by the Plaintiff and clerk of court 

2. Complaint (Form 2) 
• Must be signed by Plaintiff 

3. Settlement Agreement (Form 3) 
• Must be signed by both Plaintiff and Defendant in the presence of a notary public or 

clerk of court 
4. Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property and Debts and Values (Form 4) 

• Must be signed both Plaintiff and Defendant in the presence of a notary public or 
clerk of court 

5. Exhibit B: Parenting Plan (Form 5) 
• Must be signed both Plaintiff and Defendant in the presence of a notary public or 

clerk of court 
6. Confidential Information Form (Form 6) 

• Must be signed both Plaintiff and Defendant 
7. Blank Admission of Service (Form 7) 

• To be completed and signed by the Defendant 
8. Affidavit of Proof for Stipulated Judgment (Form 8) 

• Must be signed by Plaintiff in the presence of a notary public or clerk of court 
9. Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order for Judgment (Proposed) (Form 9)  

• NOT SIGNED 
10. Judgment (Proposed) (Form 10)  

• NOT SIGNED 

 The Defendant completes, dates and signs the Admission of Service (Form 7): 

• The Defendant completes the Admission of Service (Form 7); 
• The Defendant dates and signs the Admission of Service (Form 7); 
• The Defendant makes a copy of the Admission of Service (Form 7) for their records; and 
• The Defendant returns the original, completed Admission of Service (Form 7) to you. 

You and your spouse are now required to obey the Summons. Read it carefully! 
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Warning: Once the Defendant receives copies of the completed Summons and Complaint, And 
dates and signs the Admission of Service, neither you nor your spouse can take your minor 
child(ren) from North Dakota without the written permission of the other spouse or an order of 
the Court. (This doesn’t include taking your minor child(ren) from North Dakota for temporary 
periods.) If a spouse disobeys this temporary restraining provision, that spouse may be in 
contempt of court. 

 Make a copy of the original, completed and signed Admission of Service (Form 7) for your 
records. 

After you receive the completed and signed Admission of Service (Form 7) from the 
Defendant, go to Step 11. 

You Must make a copy of the completed Form 1, Form 2, Form 3, Form 5, Form 7, Form 8, Form 
9, and Form 10 If any of the following are True: 

     •   You applied and were accepted for Child Support services for any child listed in the  
          Settlement Agreement (Form 3); or 

     •   You currently receive financial or medical assistance from the State of North  
          Dakota for any child listed in the Settlement Agreement (Form 3). 

You Must serve the copies on North Dakota Child Support. Contact North Dakota Child Support 
and ask who you serve. 

Step Eleven: 
File the Original, Completed Forms with the Clerk of Court 

 Take or mail the completed Originals of each of the following Completed forms to the 
Clerk of Court in the North Dakota county where you plan to file your divorce forms: 

• Summons (Form 1); 
• Complaint (Form 2); 
• Settlement Agreement (Form 3); 

o You must include your child support calculations and any additional sheets 
• Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property and Debts and Values (Form 4) 
• Exhibit B: Parenting Plan (Form 5); 
• Confidential Information Form (Form 6); 
• Admission of Service (Form 7); 

https://childsupport.dhs.nd.gov/


NDLSHC Page 17 of 18 Stip DWC Instructions/Rev Feb 2024 

• Affidavit of Proof for Stipulated Judgment (Form 8); 
• Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order for Judgment (Proposed) (Form 9); 
• Judgment (Proposed) (Form 10); and 
• All proposed QDRO’s (If you divided individual pension or retirement plans). 

 Pay the filing fee. The filing fee for a divorce action is currently $80.00. If you can’t afford to 
pay the filing fee, the judge or judicial referee may waive it under certain circumstances.  

Forms and instructions to request an order to waive filing fees are available at 
ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/fee-waiver. File the completed forms when you file your 
completed divorce forms. 

A judge or judicial referee reviews the request to determine whether you must pay the filing 
fee. Be prepared to pay the filing fee if your request isn’t granted or the Clerk of court can’t file 
your documents. 

The original documents are kept in the court file. If your documents are accepted for filing by 
the Clerk of court, a case number is assigned to your divorce case. 

Step Twelve: 
Divorce Judgment 

After the judge or judicial referee reviews all of the completed forms, the judge or judicial 
referee may decide to hold a hearing. If the judge or judicial referee requires a hearing, you’re 
notified of the date, time and location of the hearing. If you fail to attend the hearing, the judge 
or judicial referee may not grant your divorce. 

If the judge or judicial referee approves the Settlement Agreement, the Clerk of court sends you 
a copy of the Judgment telling you the judge signed the Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, 
and Order for Judgment and the Judgment is entered (filed). After the signed and dated 
Judgment is entered (filed), your divorce is granted and is final.   

If the judge or judicial referee doesn’t require a hearing And the judge or judicial referee 
approves the Settlement Agreement, the clerk of court sends you a copy of the Judgment 
telling you the judge signed the Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order for Judgment 
and the Judgment is entered (filed). After the signed and dated Judgment is entered (filed), 
your divorce is granted and is final.  

Warning: You’re Not Divorced Until the Judgment is Entered (Filed). 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/fee-waiver
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Step Thirteen: 
The Plaintiff Serves the Notice of Entry of Judgment (Form 11) on the Defendant 
and Files Proof of Service 

The spouse listed as Plaintiff completes this form. 

Within 14 days after the divorce judgment is entered, the Plaintiff must serve a Notice of Entry 
of Judgment (Form 11) on the Defendant. 

Instructions for completing and serving the Notice of Entry of Judgment (Form 11) are attached 
to the form. 

• Fill out the Notice of Entry of Judgment (Form 11).  

After service is complete, file the original completed Notice of Entry of Judgment (Form 11) 
And proof of service on the Defendant with the clerk of court. 

Certified Copies of Your Divorce Judgment 

You can request certified copies of your divorce judgment from the Clerk of Court’s Office. 
Contact information for clerks of court by county is available at ndcourts.gov/court-locations. 

There is a cost for certified copies: 

• $10 for the first certified copy; 
• $5 for each additional certified copy (if requested at the same time). 

Your divorce judgment is made up of 3 documents: 

• Judgment (Form 10); 
• Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property and Debts and Values (Form 4); and 
• Exhibit B: Parenting Plan (Form 5). 

You need certified copies of the all 3 documents. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/court-locations
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Filing for Divorce Together – With Children 

Instructions for Form 1: Summons 

(Form 1: Summons is part of the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms. 
Review the instructions for the packet of forms. You must complete the Settlement Agreement, 

Exhibit A, and Exhibit B before completing the Summons.) 

ND Legal Self Help Center Staff and Court employees can’t help you fill out forms. If you’re 
unsure how to proceed, consult a lawyer. 

ND Legal Self Help Center forms aren’t official court forms. Judges and courts aren’t required 
to accept them. There’s no guarantee Center forms will be accepted. Use at your own risk. 

Don’t include these instruction sheets when you serve or file the completed form. 

The Plaintiff Completes & Signs This Form. The Clerk of Court Must Also Sign 
and Date this Form. 

Service of a Summons is required in every divorce case, without exception. 

Service of the Summons (Form 1) happens in Step Ten of the instructions for the packet of 
forms. 

 Top of Form (Caption): Fill in the caption exactly as you filled in the caption on Form 3: 
Settlement Agreement. 

 Paragraphs 1 through 4: Read carefully. Once the Summons is served on the Defendant in 
Step Ten, both spouses are required to obey the Summons. 

 Date and Signature:  

Don’t date and sign the Summons (Form 1). You’ll date and sign the Summons in Step Nine 
of the instructions for the packet of forms. 

In divorce cases, when a Plaintiff isn’t represented by a lawyer, the summons must be 
issued by the Clerk of Court. The Clerk of Court must sign and date the summons before 
it’s served on the Defendant. 

You’ll take the Summons to the Clerk of Court to sign in Step Nine of the instructions for the 
packet of forms. 

Don’t include this instruction sheet when you serve or file the completed form. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
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Filing for Divorce Together – With Children 

Instructions for Form 2: Complaint 

(Form 2: Complaint is part of the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms. 
Review the instructions for the packet of forms. You must complete the Settlement Agreement, 

Exhibit A, and Exhibit B before completing the Complaint.) 

ND Legal Self Help Center Staff and Court employees can’t help you fill out forms. If you’re 
unsure how to proceed, consult a lawyer. 

ND Legal Self Help Center forms aren’t official court forms. Judges and courts aren’t required 
to accept them. There’s no guarantee Center forms will be accepted. Use at your own risk. 

Don’t include these instruction sheets when you serve or file the completed form. 

The Plaintiff Completes & Signs This Form: 

Definitions 

Deploying or deployed parent – a deploying or deployed parent is a uniformed service member 
who has been notified of orders of movement or mobilization for more than ninety days but 
less than eighteen months and the orders are designated as unaccompanied, not authorized for 
dependent travel, or don’t permit family members to move to the deployment location. 

Equitable Distribution (also called Equitable Division) – Marital property and debt is divided 
equitably (fairly) in a divorce. Equitable distribution doesn’t mean equal distribution. 

Home state – the state in which a child lived with a parent for at least six consecutive months 
immediately before the commencement of a child custody proceeding. In the case of a child 
less than six months of age, home state means the state in which the child lived from birth with 
a parent.  A period of temporary absence of any of the mentioned persons is part of the period. 

Irreconcilable differences – (also called No Fault) substantial reasons for not continuing the 
marriage and which make it appear the marriage should be dissolved. The court need only find 
that irreconcilable differences exist. 

Parenting time – (also called visitation) the time when the child is to be in the care of a parent. 

Residential responsibility – (also called custody) a parent's responsibility to provide a home for 
the child. 

 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf


NDLSHC [Page 2 of 4] Stip DWC Form 2 Inst/Rev Jan 2024 

A Complaint is required to be served with the Summons in every divorce case, even if you and 
your spouse agree to 100% of all issues in your divorce. 

 Top of form (Caption): Fill in the caption exactly as you filled in the caption on Form 3: 
Settlement Agreement. 

 Paragraphs 1 & 2: If the statements in Paragraphs 1 and 2 aren’t true, Stop! You can’t use 
this form or the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms. 

 Paragraph 3(a): Refer to Paragraph 2 of Form 3: Settlement Agreement to fill in your 
information. 

 Paragraph 3(b): Refer to Paragraph 3 of Form 3: Settlement Agreement to fill in the 
Defendant’s information. 

 Paragraph 4: Refer to Paragraph 4 of Form 3: Settlement Agreement to fill in your marriage 
information. 

 Paragraph 5: Put a checkmark () next to the same statement as Paragraph 7 of Form 3: 
Settlement Agreement. 

• See the Instructions for the packet of forms for the definitions of deployed or deploying 
parent. 

 Paragraph 6: If the statement in Paragraph 6 isn’t true, Stop! You can’t use this form or the 
Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms. 

 Paragraph 7: Fill in the same information as Paragraph 10 of Form 3: Settlement Agreement. 

 Paragraph 8: Put a checkmark () next to the residential responsibility option that you and 
the Defendant will request from the Court. Don’t put a checkmark in more than one box. 

• See the Instructions for the packet of forms for definitions of residential responsibility 
and parenting time. 

The Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms doesn’t include an option 
for split residential responsibility (dividing the minor children between the parents).  If you 
want a court to establish split residential responsibility, Stop! You can’t use this form or the 
Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms. 

 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
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 Paragraph 9: Put a checkmark () next to the same statement as Paragraph 11 of Form 3: 
Settlement Agreement. 

• Type or write the full, legal name of the parent(s). 

 Paragraph 10: Put a checkmark () next to the same statement as Paragraph 12 of Form 3: 
Settlement Agreement. 

 Paragraph 11: Complete all 5 parts of Paragraph 11. 

• Paragraph 11(a): Fill in the information for each minor child listed in Paragraph 7.  
(Initials only) 

• Paragraph 11(b): Fill in the information for each minor child listed in Paragraph 7.  
(Initials only) 

• Paragraph 11(c): Put a checkmark () next to the statement that is true for your 
situation.  If you select the second option, fill in the additional information. 

• Paragraph 11(d): Put a checkmark () next to the statement that is true for your 
situation.  If you select the second option, fill in the additional information. 

• Paragraph 11(e): Put a checkmark () next to the statement that is true for your 
situation.  If you select the second option, fill in the additional information. 

• If you need more space to answer any of Paragraph 11, attach a sheet or sheets with the 
additional information. Type or write on one side only. 

o Put a checkmark () in the box at the end of Paragraph 11. 
o Type or write “Complaint Paragraph 11” on top of the additional sheet(s). 

 Paragraph 12:  Put a checkmark () next to the statement that’s true for your situation. If 
you select the first option, fill in the case number of the child support order. 

• If you already have a child support order, make sure you use the same case number as 
the first option of Paragraph 13 of Form 3: Settlement Agreement. 

 Paragraphs 13 & 14: You don’t need to write anything for these paragraphs. You provide 
detailed information about your property and outstanding debts and liabilities in Exhibit A: 
Confidential Division of Property and Debts and Values (Form 4). 

• You must complete Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property and Debts and Values 
(Form 4) even if you don’t have property and outstanding debts and liabilities. 
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 Paragraph 15:  Put a checkmark () next to the statement that’s true for your situation. 
Make sure you select the same option as Paragraph 18 of Form 3: Settlement Agreement. 

 Paragraphs 16 through 20: Read the statements carefully. This tells the court what you’re 
asking for from the court. 

 Paragraph 21: This is your verified statement, under penalty of perjury. 

By signing your name you’re telling the Court that you’re telling the truth and that you have 
a good faith reason for your requests. If you’re not telling the truth or if you’re misleading 
the Court, or if you’re serving or filing this document for an improper purpose, the Court 
could find you in contempt or you may be prosecuted for perjury. 

 Date and Signature: Complete the date and signature block. 

• Fill in the date you sign this document. 

• Sign the signature line. 

• Print your name. 

• Fill in the address lines. If you have a physical address and a mailing address, type or 
write both addresses using the lines provided, and the space next to the address lines. 

• Fill in the telephone number and email address lines. 

 

Don’t include these instruction sheets when you serve or file the completed form. 
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Filing for Divorce Together – With Children 

Instructions for Form 3: Settlement Agreement 

(Form 3: Settlement Agreement is part of the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet 
of forms. Review the instructions for the packet of forms before completing the Settlement 

Agreement, Exhibit A, and Exhibit B.) 

ND Legal Self Help Center Staff and Court employees can’t help you fill out forms. If you’re 
unsure how to proceed, consult a lawyer. 

ND Legal Self Help Center forms aren’t official court forms. Judges and courts aren’t required 
to accept them. There’s no guarantee Center forms will be accepted. Use at your own risk. 

Don’t include these instruction sheets when you serve or file the completed form. 

Fill out the Settlement Agreement (Form 3) ONLY if you and your spouse agree on ALL issues 
in the Settlement Agreement (Form 3), Exhibit A (Form 4), and Exhibit B (Form 5). If you 
haven’t reached a full agreement on ALL issues, you can’t use this packet of forms. 

The Plaintiff & Defendant Must Work Together to Complete & Sign This Form: 

Definitions 

Child Support – payments for the support of a child, including payments for health insurance 
coverage or other medical support, and payments for the support of spouses or former spouses 
with whom the child is living as long as the spousal support payment is owed to the spouse or 
former spouse under the same order as the payments for the child, if the payment is required 
by the order of a court or other governmental agency having authority to issue such orders, and 
includes past-due support. 

Debts (also called Liabilities) – Everything owed by either spouse, whether owed jointly or 
individually, or incurred before or during the marriage. Debts include, but aren’t limited to, 
mortgage, credit cards, student loans and car loans. 

Deploying or deployed parent – a deploying or deployed parent is a uniformed service member 
who has been notified of orders of movement or mobilization for more than ninety days but 
less than eighteen months and the orders are designated as unaccompanied, not authorized for 
dependent travel, or don’t permit family members to move to the deployment location. 

Equitable Distribution (also called Equitable Division) – Marital property and debt is divided 
equitably (fairly) in a divorce. Equitable distribution doesn’t mean equal distribution. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
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Home state – the state in which a child lived with a parent for at least six consecutive months 
immediately before the commencement of a child custody proceeding. In the case of a child 
less than six months of age, home state means the state in which the child lived from birth with 
a parent.  A period of temporary absence of any of the mentioned persons is part of the period. 

Irreconcilable differences – (also called No Fault) substantial reasons for not continuing the 
marriage and which make it appear the marriage should be dissolved. The court need only find 
that irreconcilable differences exist. 

Liabilities – See Debts. 

Marital Property – All of the assets and debts owned by either spouse, whether owned or 
owed jointly or individually, or acquired or incurred before or during the marriage. 

Obligor – the person ordered by the court to pay child support or spousal support. 

Obligee – the person receiving child support or spousal support ordered by the court. 

Parental rights and responsibilities – all the rights and responsibilities a parent has concerning 
the parent's child. 

Parenting plan – a written plan describing each parent's rights and responsibilities. 

Parenting time – (also called visitation) the time when the child is to be in the care of a parent. 

Primary residential responsibility – a parent with more than fifty percent of the residential 
responsibility. 

Residential responsibility – (also called custody) a parent's responsibility to provide a home for 
the child. 

 Top of form (Caption): Fill in the name of the North Dakota County where you plan to file 
your divorce case. Go to ndcourts.gov/court-locations for a map of court locations listed by 
County. 

• Fill in the name of the Judicial District where the County is located. Click on the name of 
the County to find the name of the Judicial District. 

• Fill in the full, legal name of the spouse who will be listed as the Plaintiff. 

• Fill in the full, legal name of the spouse who will be listed as the Defendant. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/court-locations
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• Leave Case No blank. If the Clerk of Court accepts all of completed Filing for Divorce 
Together – With Children forms, the Clerk of Court assigns a case number. (See Step 
Eleven of the Instructions for the forms packet.) 

 Whereas: Review the statements carefully. 

Agreement as to Facts: 

 Paragraph 1: You don’t need to write anything for this paragraph. 

• However, you can’t file this completed Form 3 with the Clerk of Court until you 
complete Step Ten of the Instructions for the forms packet. 

 Paragraph 2: Fill in the information for the Plaintiff. 

 Paragraph 3: Fill in the information for the Defendant.   

 Paragraph 4: Fill in your marriage information. 

 Paragraphs 5 & 6: If the statements in Paragraphs 5 and 6 aren’t true, Stop! You can’t use 
this form or the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms. 

 Paragraph 7: Put a checkmark () next to the statement that’s true for your situation. If 
neither statement is true, Stop! You can’t use this form or the Filing for Divorce Together – 
With Children packet of forms. 

• See the Instructions for the forms packet for the definitions of deployed or deploying 
spouse. 

 Paragraphs 8 & 9: If the statements in Paragraphs 8 and 9 aren’t true, Stop! You can’t use 
this form or the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms. 

 Paragraph 10: Fill in the information for each minor child of the Plaintiff and Defendant. 

If you have more than three minor children together, attach a sheet that lists the 
information for each additional child. Type or write on one side only. 

• Put a checkmark () in the box at the end of Paragraph 10. 
• Type or write “Settlement Agreement Paragraph 10” on the top of the additional 

sheet(s). 

 

 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf


NDLSHC [Page 4 of 9] Stip DWC Form 3 Inst/Rev Jan 2024 

 Paragraph 11: Put a checkmark () next to the statement that’s true for your situation. 

• Type or write the full, legal name of the spouse. 

If neither statement is true, Stop! You can’t use this form or the Filing for Divorce Together 
– With Children packet of forms. 

 Paragraph 12: Put a checkmark () next to the statement that is true for your situation. If 
neither statement is true, Stop! You can’t use this form or the Filing for Divorce Together – 
With Children packet of forms. 

 Paragraph 13:  Refer to Paragraph 12 of Form 2: Complaint.  Put a checkmark () next to 
the statement that is true for your situation. If you select the first option, fill in the case 
number of the child support order. 

• If you already have a child support order, make sure you have a copy. You file the copy 
of the child support order with the court. (See Step Eleven of the Instructions for the 
forms packet.) 

 Paragraph 14: List all of the Plaintiff’s sources of income. List the amount of the monthly 
income from each source. 

 Paragraph 15:  List all of the Defendant’s sources of income. List the amount of the monthly 
income from each source. 

Important Information for Paragraph 16 – Spousal Support 

In deciding to award spousal support, the Court would consider any factors the court considers 
relevant in deciding the amount and duration of spousal support, and must consider the 
following factors from Section 14-05-24.1 of the North Dakota Century Code: 

• The age of the Plaintiff and Defendant; 
• The earning of the Plaintiff and Defendant; 
• The duration of the marriage; 
• The conduct of the Plaintiff and Defendant during the marriage; 
• The station in life of the Plaintiff and Defendant; 
• The circumstances and necessities of the Plaintiff and Defendant; 
• The health and physical condition of the Plaintiff and Defendant; and 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t14c05.pdf#nameddest=14-05-24p1
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• The Plaintiff’s and Defendant’s financial circumstances as shown by the property owned 
at the time, its value at the time, its income-producing capacity, if any, whether 
accumulated before or after the marriage. 

Once spousal support is awarded, or reserved, the court may change or set the amount or the 
length of time the spousal support is paid under certain circumstances. 

 

Duration of Spousal Support for Paragraph 16 

Section 14-05-24.1 of the North Dakota Century Code lists the amount of time a spouse may 
receive spousal support as follows: 

Length of Marriage 
Duration of Spousal Support Award as Percentage (%) of the 
Number of Months of the Length of the Marriage 

Less than 5 Years Up to 50% 
Between 5 and 10 Years Up to 60% 
Between 10 and 15 Years Up to 70% 
Between 15 and 20 Years Up to 80% 
20 Years or More Duration Agreed by Parties, or a Limited Time as Decided by the 

Court 

If you plan to include a different duration of spousal support than the amount listed above, 
Stop! You can’t use this form or the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of 
forms. 

 Paragraph 16: Put a checkmark () next to the statement that is true for your situation. If 
you select the second option, fill in the information completely, and explain the need 
spousal support. 

 Paragraph 17: You don’t need to write anything for this paragraph. You provide detailed 
information about your property and outstanding debts and liabilities in Exhibit A: 
Confidential Division of Property and Debts and Values (Form 4). 

• You must complete Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property and Debts and Values 
(Form 4) even if you don’t have property and outstanding debts and liabilities. 

 Paragraph 18: Put a checkmark () next to the statement that is true for the Plaintiff. If yes, 
write or type the full, legal name the Plaintiff requests. 

https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t14c05.pdf#nameddest=14-05-24p1
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 Paragraph 19: Put a checkmark () next to the statement that is true for the Defendant. If 
yes, write or type the full, legal name the Defendant requests. 

Stipulated Terms for Judgment: 

 Paragraph 20: Fill in the name of the North Dakota County you listed in the Caption. 

 Paragraphs 21 and 22: You don’t need to write anything for these paragraphs. If the 
statements in Paragraphs 21 and 22 aren’t true, Stop! You can’t use this form or the Filing 
for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms. 

A Parenting Plan is required in every divorce involving residential responsibility (custody) and 
parenting time (visitation). The Plaintiff and Defendant must complete and sign Exhibit B: 

Parenting Plan (Form 5). Otherwise, you can’t use this form or the Filing for Divorce Together – 
With Children packet of forms. 

 Paragraph 23: You don’t need to write anything for this paragraph. You provide a detailed 
parenting plan in Exhibit B: Parenting Plan (Form 5). 

Paragraph 24 through Paragraph 35 is Your Child Support Agreement 

If you don’t already have a child support order, you must calculate your child support 
amount. Calculate your child support before completing Paragraph 24 through Paragraph 35.  

The link to the Child Support Calculator is childsupport.dhs.nd.gov/resources-lawyers/child-
support-guidelines/current-child-support-guidelines. The Calculator is maintained and 
supported by the Child Support Division of the North Dakota Department of Health and Human 
Services. 

If you don’t want to establish child support at this time, or if you and your spouse agreed to a 

different child support amount than child support calculator indicates, Stop! You can’t use 
this form or the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms. 

If you attempt to file this packet of forms without completing the child support calculations, the 
court will either require you to complete the calculations before making a decision on your 
divorce case, or dismiss your divorce case entirely. 

You may be able to apply for services with North Dakota Child Support. 

If your application for full services is approved by North Dakota Child Support they can help to 
establish an order for child support and medical support in a separate child support case. 

https://www.childsupport.dhs.nd.gov/resources-lawyers/child-support-guidelines/current-child-support-guidelines
https://www.childsupport.dhs.nd.gov/resources-lawyers/child-support-guidelines/current-child-support-guidelines
https://www.childsupport.dhs.nd.gov/
https://www.childsupport.dhs.nd.gov/
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 Paragraph 24: Put a checkmark () next to the option that fits your circumstances. Fill in 
the details. Don’t checkmark more than one option. 

 Paragraph 25: Put a checkmark () next to the option that fits your circumstances. Fill in 
the details. Don’t checkmark more than one option. 

• WARNING: The Calculator amount is presumed to be the correct amount of child 
support. If you ask for a deviation from the Calculator amount you must prove you meet 
one of the limited exceptions for deviation, and the deviation is in the best interests of 
the child(ren). You’re strongly urged to consult an attorney if you’re asking for deviation 
from the Calculator amount. 

• If you’re asking for a deviation and need additional space to prove you meet one of the 
limited exceptions for deviation and best interests of the children, you may attach an 
additional sheet or sheets. Type or write on one side only. 

o Put a checkmark () in the box at the end of Paragraph 25. 
o Type or write “Settlement Agreement Paragraph 25” on the top of the additional 

sheet(s). 

 Paragraph 26: Put a checkmark () next to the option that fits your circumstances. Fill in 
the details. Don’t checkmark more than one option. 

 Paragraph 27: Put a checkmark () next to the option that fits your circumstances. Fill in 
the details. Don’t checkmark more than one option. 

 Paragraph 28: Put a checkmark () next to the option that fits your circumstances. Fill in 
the details. Don’t checkmark more than one option. 

• This section allows spouses with more than one minor child to calculate child support 
amounts when the child support obligation ends for an older child. For example, for 
spouses with three children, when the oldest child turns 18 or graduates high school, 
child support payment “steps-down” to the amount calculated for two children, rather 
than three. 

• You aren’t required to include step-down child support obligations. You may choose to 
reserve the issue for some time in the future. 

• If you choose to include a step-down, you need to complete the Calculator for each 
step-down child support obligation. 

• If you have more than three minor children, you may use an additional sheet to 
complete Paragraph 28 for more than three children. Type or write on one side only. 

https://www.childsupport.dhs.nd.gov/resources-lawyers/child-support-guidelines/current-child-support-guidelines
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o Put a checkmark () in the box at the end of Paragraph 28. Type or write 
“Settlement Agreement Paragraph 28” on the top of the additional sheet(s). 

 Paragraphs 29 through 33: Read carefully. You don’t need to write anything for these 
paragraphs. 

 Paragraph 34: Read carefully. If existing coverage applies to your situation, put a checkmark 
() next to “Existing Coverage” and a checkmark () next to either Plaintiff or Defendant. 

 Paragraph 35: Read carefully. Fill in the details of your agreement for uninsured and 
unreimbursed medical expenses. 

 Paragraph 36:  Fill in the details of your agreement for childcare costs. 

 Paragraph 37:  Put a checkmark () next to the option to which both spouses agree. If the 
option requires details, fill in the details. Don’t checkmark more than one option. 

 Paragraph 38: Refer to Paragraph 16. Put a checkmark () next to the option to which both 
spouses agree. If the option requires details, fill in the details. Don’t checkmark more than 
one option. 

• If you select an option for payment of spousal support, type or write when spousal 
support payments will begin. 

• If the same spouse paying spousal support will also pay child support, you may wish to 
start both payments at the same time. (Refer to Paragraph 26.) 

 Paragraph 39: You don’t need to write anything for this paragraph. You must complete 
Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property and Debts and Values (Form 4) even if you don’t 
have property and outstanding debts and liabilities. 

 Paragraph 40: Read carefully. You don’t need to fill out anything for Paragraph 40. 

 Paragraph 41: Refer to Paragraph 18. Put a checkmark () next to the option that matches 
the option you chose in Paragraph 18. If the option requires details, fill in the details. Don’t 
checkmark more than one option. 

 Paragraph 42: Refer to Paragraph 19. Put a checkmark () next to the option that matches 
the option you chose in Paragraph 19. If the option requires details, fill in the details. Don’t 
checkmark more than one option. 

 Paragraphs 43 through 50: Read carefully. You don’t need to fill out anything for 
Paragraphs 43 through 50. 
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 Plaintiff Completes and Signs Page 18. The Plaintiff must sign and date in the presence of a
Notary Public or a Clerk of Court.

 Defendant Completes and Signs Page 19. The Defendant must sign and date in the
presence of a Notary Public or a Clerk of Court.

Each spouse may sign on separate dates and at separate locations, but both spouses must
sign and date BEFORE filing this completed packet of forms with the court.

• The form doesn’t have to be signed in North Dakota or signed by a North Dakota Notary
Public or a North Dakota Clerk of Court.

• If you sign the form in a state other than North Dakota, sign in the presence of a Notary
Public or Clerk of Court of that state.

Both Spouses Must Sign the Settlement Agreement (Form 3)! 

You can use this packet of forms Only If the forms are completed and signed as 
follows: 

• Summons (Form 1) – signed by Plaintiff and a clerk of court
• Complaint (Form 2) – signed by Plaintiff
• Settlement Agreement (Form 3) – signed by Plaintiff & Defendant in presence of 

notary public or clerk of court
• Exhibit A: Property and Debt Listing (Form 4) – signed by Plaintiff & Defendant in 

presence of notary public or clerk of court
• Exhibit B: Parenting Plan (Form 5) – signed by Plaintiff & Defendant in presence 

of notary public or clerk of court
• Confidential Information Form (Form 6) – signed by Plaintiff & Defendant
• Admission of Service (Form 7) – signed by Defendant
• Affidavit of Proof (Form 8) – signed by Plaintiff in presence of notary public or 

clerk of court
• Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order for Judgment (Proposed) (Form

9) – unsigned
• Judgment (Proposed) (Form 10) – unsigned
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Filing for Divorce Together – With Children 

Instructions for Form 4: Exhibit A: Confidential Division of 
Property & Debts & Values 

(Form 4: Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property & Debts & Values is part of the Filing for 
Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms. Review the instructions for the packet of 

forms. You must complete the Settlement Agreement, Exhibit A, and Exhibit B before 
completing the Complaint.) 

ND Legal Self Help Center Staff and Court employees can’t help you fill out forms. If you’re 
unsure how to proceed, consult a lawyer. 

ND Legal Self Help Center forms aren’t official court forms. Judges and courts aren’t required 
to accept them. There’s no guarantee Center forms will be accepted. Use at your own risk. 

Don’t include these instruction sheets when you serve or file the completed form. 

Fill out Exhibit A (Form 4) ONLY if you and your spouse agree on ALL issues in the Settlement 
Agreement (Form 3), Exhibit A (Form 4), and Exhibit B (Form 5). If you haven’t reached a full 
agreement on ALL issues, you can’t use this packet of forms. 

Even if You Don’t Have Any Property or Debt, you and your spouse must complete 
this form. If you attempt to file this packet of forms without including Exhibit A (Form 4), the 
Clerk of Court won’t accept your other completed forms for filing. 

The Plaintiff & Defendant Must Work Together to Complete & Sign This Form: 

Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property & Debts & Values (Form 4) tells the judge or judicial 
referee the following: 

• The value of your assets and debts;
• How you agree to divide your assets and debts; and
• Allows the judge or judicial referee to determine the fairness to both spouses of your

agreed on division of property and the debts.

(The Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property and Debt and Values (Form 4) is a confidential 
court record that isn’t generally available to be viewed by the public after the document is filed 
with the clerk of court. However, any person with good cause may make a written request to the 
judge or judicial referee for access to Exhibit A (Form 4). 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
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If a person makes a written request, they must notify the parties in the divorce. The parties then 
have the option to tell the judge or judicial referee in writing why they agree or disagree with 
the request. If the judge or judicial referee finds that the public interest, or the personal interest 
of the person making the request, outweighs the privacy interest of the parties, or their 
dependent children, the judge or judicial referee grants access to Exhibit A (Form 4).) 

Equitable Distribution of Property & Debt in Divorce 

Section 14-05-24 of the North Dakota Century Code requires an equitable distribution of 
property and debt in a divorce. This is also called equitable division of property and debts. 

Equitable distribution means that property and debts are divided fairly, rather than equally. 

When the judge or judicial referee reviews your completed and signed Exhibit A (Form 4), they 
will consider the following factors (the Ruff-Fischer guidelines) to decide if you and your spouse 
have reached an equitable distribution of property in your Exhibit A (Form 4) agreement: 

• The respective ages of the spouses;
• The earning ability of each spouse;
• The duration of the marriage and conduct of the spouses during the marriage;
• The station in life of each spouse;
• The circumstances and necessities of each spouse;
• The health and physical condition of each spouse;
• Their financial circumstances as shown by the property owned at the time, its value at

the time, its income-producing capacity, if any, whether accumulated before or after the
marriage; and

• Such other matters that may be material.

The division of property, once approved by the judge or judicial referee, is final and can only 
be changed under limited circumstances. Consult a Lawyer if you have Any Questions! 

Definitions: 

Assets – Everything owned by either spouse, whether owned jointly or individually, or acquired 
before or during the marriage. Assets include, but aren’t limited to, real property, cards, 
furniture, bank accounts, jewelry, life insurance policies, businesses, and retirement plans. 

Date of Valuation – The date the Fair Market Value (FMV) was established. 

https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t14c05.pdf#nameddest=14-05-24
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Debts (also called Liabilities) – Everything owed by either spouse, whether owed jointly or 
individually, or incurred before or during the marriage. Debts include, but aren’t limited to, 
mortgage, credit cards, student loans and car loans. 

Equitable Distribution (also called Equitable Division) – Marital property and debt is divided 
equitably (fairly) in a divorce. Equitable distribution doesn’t mean equal distribution. 

Equity – Fair Market Value (FMV) of the asset, real property, or personal property, minus the 
debt connected to the asset, real property or personal property. 

Fair Market Value (FMV), or Market Value – The price at which the property would sell. 

Liabilities – See Debts. 

Marital Property – All of the assets and debts owned by either spouse, whether owned or 
owed jointly or individually, or acquired or incurred before or during the marriage. 

Net Value – See Equity. 

Personal property – every kind of property that isn’t real property. 

Qualified Domestic Relations Order (QDRO) – an order of the court that directs the 
administrator of a retirement plan to divide retirement assets as granted in a divorce judgment.  
There are many different QDRO’s that are specific to the type of retirement plan. For more 
information about QDRO’s, go to dol.gov/agencies/ebsa/workers-and-families/separation-and-
divorce and scroll to the “Retirement” section. 

***If you divide a retirement asset between spouses, a QDRO is required. The spouses Must 
present a proposed QDRO to the court to consider and sign. The court Won’t draft a QDRO for 
you. The ND Legal Self Help Center Doesn’t have QDRO forms or instructions. Center staff Can’t 
help you draft a QDRO. Consult a lawyer when dividing a retirement asset!*** 

Real Property (also called Real Estate) – Land either with or without buildings on it. For 
example, a home is real property. 

Secured Debt – A debt that’s backed by collateral you, the borrower, have. Collateral is an asset 
of value pledged to secure a debt. (For example, a home loan is a secured debt because you put 
your home up as collateral to secure the loan.) 

Unsecured Debt – Debt that isn’t backed by collateral. Instead, unsecured debt relies on 
consideration. Consideration refers to the benefit each party receives in exchange for what the 
party gives up. Consideration may be a promise, performance, or forbearance. (Unsecured 
debts may include credit cards, medical bills, utility bills, etc.) 

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/ebsa/workers-and-families/separation-and-divorce
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/ebsa/workers-and-families/separation-and-divorce
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Valuation Date – This is the date on which the fair market value (FMV) of property is 
established. This is also the date the total amount owed on a debt or liability is established. 
When you divorce, you need to figure out the valuation date for your property and debt. 

See N.D.C.C. Section 14-05-24(1) for the valuation dates for property and debt in a divorce. 

In general, the valuation date is the date to which both spouses agree. 

There may be property to which federal law applies. If so, the valuation date is the date 
required by the federal law(s) that applies to the property. 

 Top of form (Caption): Fill in the caption exactly as you filled in the caption on Form 3:
Settlement Agreement.

 Paragraphs 1 & 2: If the statements in Paragraphs 1 and 2 aren’t true, Stop! You can’t use
this form or the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms.

 Paragraph 3: Real Property Jointly Owned by Both Spouses. Put a checkmark () next to
the statement that’s true for your situation.

If you choose the second statement, complete all of the information. Don’t leave any
blanks.

The legal description of the real property isn’t the street address. The legal description may
be found on the warranty deed, mortgage, title insurance, or from the County Recorder.

 Paragraph 4: Real Property Solely Owned by Plaintiff. Put a checkmark () next to the
statement that’s true for your situation.

If you choose the second statement, complete all of the information. Don’t leave any
blanks.

The legal description of the real property isn’t the street address. The legal description may
be found on the warranty deed, mortgage, title insurance, or from the County Recorder.

 Paragraph 5: Real Property Solely Owned by Defendant. Put a checkmark () next to the
statement that’s true for your situation.

If you choose the second statement, complete all of the information. Don’t leave any
blanks.

The legal description of the real property isn’t the street address. The legal description may
be found on the warranty deed, mortgage, title insurance, or from the County Recorder.

https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t14c05.pdf#nameddest=14-05-24
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 Paragraph 6: Motor Vehicles, Boats, Watercraft, Campers, Snowmobiles, or Trailers. Put a
checkmark () next to the statement that’s true for your situation.

If you choose the second statement, read the instructions on the form. Complete all of the
information for every motor vehicle, boats, watercraft, camper, snowmobile, or trailer you
and your spouse own jointly and separately, acquired both before and during the marriage.

Don’t leave any blanks. If you finish Paragraph 6 and have blank spaces left, type or write
“not applicable” in the blank spaces.

 Paragraph 7: Household Goods, Furniture, and Furnishings. Before you complete
Paragraph 7, you and your spouse must agree how to divide all of the household goods,
furniture, and furnishings you own jointly and separately, acquired both before and during
the marriage.

After you divide all of your household goods, furniture, and furnishings, you must agree on
the total value of each spouse’s share of divided household goods, furniture, and
furnishings.

Fill in the total agreed upon value of each spouse’s share of the divided household goods,
furniture, and furnishings.

 Paragraph 8: Other Personal Property. Put a checkmark () next to the statement that’s
true for your situation.

If you choose the second statement, read the instructions on the form. Complete all of the
information for all of the other personal property you and your spouse own jointly and
separately, acquired both before and during the marriage, that isn’t listed anywhere else on
Exhibit A (Form 4).

Don’t leave any blanks. If you finish Paragraph 7 and have blank spaces left, type or write
“not applicable” in the blank spaces.

Caution for Paragraphs 9 & 10: Dividing Pension Plans and Retirement Accounts 

Dividing pension plans and retirement accounts is extremely complicated. You and your 
spouses are responsible for making sure these assets are divided with a separate court order.  

The separate court order is called a qualified domestic relations order (QDRO) and the parties 
are responsible for getting their own proposed QDRO and presenting the proposed QDRO to 

the judge or judicial referee to sign. 
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The judge or judicial referee Won’t draft a QDRO document or an order including a QDRO. 

The ND Legal Self Help Center Doesn’t have QDRO forms. Center staff Can’t help you draft a 
QDRO or help you get a proposed QDRO. 

If Plaintiff’s plan will be divided, the Plaintiff is responsible for getting the proposed QDRO for 
the judge or judicial referee to sign. 

If Defendant’s plan will be divided, the Defendant is responsible for getting the proposed 
QDRO for the judge or judicial referee to sign. 

Contact the plan administrator early in the process. Some plan administrators have sample 
QDRO documents for you to follow when drafting your own QDRO. 

Don’t sign the proposed QDRO. The QDRO is signed by the judge or judicial referee. 

If neither spouse has pension nor retirement plans, Or each spouse will keep their own 

pension or retirement plans, Without Dividing The Plans, you don’t need to get a QDRO. 

 Paragraph 9: Plaintiff’s Pensions, Profit-Sharing Plans, IRAs, Other Retirement Plans. Put a
checkmark () next to the statement that’s true for your situation.

If you choose the second statement, read the instructions on the form. Complete all of the
information for all of Plaintiff’s pensions, profit-sharing plans, IRAs, and other retirement
plans.

Don’t leave any blanks. If you finish Paragraph 9 and have blank spaces left, type or write
“not applicable” in the blank spaces.

 Paragraph 10: Defendant’s Pensions, Profit-Sharing Plans, IRAs, Other Retirement Plans.
Put a checkmark () next to the statement that’s true for your situation.

If you choose the second statement, read the instructions on the form. Complete all of the
information for all of Defendant’s pensions, profit-sharing plans, IRAs, and other retirement
plans.

Don’t leave any blanks. If you finish Paragraph 10 and have blank spaces left, type or write
“not applicable” in the blank spaces.
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 Paragraph 11: Life Insurance. Put a checkmark () next to the statement that’s true for
your situation.

If you choose the second statement, read the instructions on the form. Complete all of the
information for all of the life insurance policies for you and your spouse.

• The face amount of the policy is the amount of the benefit purchased. For example,
a $100,000 life insurance policy would have a face amount of $100,000.

• Calculate the cash value – add the total premium and payments made, subtract fees,
commission, and expenses charged by the insurer. (You may find the cash value on
the life insurance statement or call your insurer to get the cash value.)

Don’t leave any blanks. If you finish Paragraph 11 and have blank spaces left, type or write 
“not applicable” in the blank spaces. 

 Paragraph 12: Business or Farm Interests or Assets. Put a checkmark () next to the
statement that’s true for your situation.

If you choose the second statement, read the instructions on the form. Complete all of the
information for all of the business or farm interests or assets owned jointly or separately by
you and your spouse, acquired both before and during the marriage.

• Examples of business or farm interests or assets include, but aren’t limited to, farm
machinery, grain on hand, accounts receivable, business equipment, etc.

Don’t leave any blanks. If you finish Paragraph 12 and have blank spaces left, type or write 
“not applicable” in the blank spaces. 

 Paragraph 13: Financial Assets. Put a checkmark () next to the statement that’s true for
your situation.

This is the Paragraph to list other financial assets not listed anywhere else on Exhibit A.

If you choose the second statement, read the instructions on the form. Complete all of the
information for all of the other financial assets owned jointly or separately by you and your
spouse, acquired both before and during the marriage.

• Examples of other financial assets include, but aren’t limited to, farm machinery,
checking accounts, savings accounts, money market accounts, stocks, bonds,
Certificates of Deposit, notes (money owed in writing), money owed (not in writing).

Don’t leave any blanks. If you finish Paragraph 13 and have blank spaces left, type or write 
“not applicable” in the blank spaces. 
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Caution for Paragraph 14: Creditors Not Bound By This Agreement 

In general, creditors aren’t bound by the agreement of the parties. 

When a debt is assigned to a spouse in a divorce judgment and that spouse doesn’t pay, the 
creditor may seek payment from the spouse who wasn’t assigned the debt.  

Consult a lawyer if you have questions. 

 Paragraph 14: Secured and Unsecured Debts and Liabilities. Put a checkmark () next to
the statement that’s true for your situation.

If you choose the second statement, read the instructions on the form. Complete all of the
information for secured and unsecured debt or liability you and your spouse owe jointly and
separately, incurred both before and during the marriage. Don’t include mortgages on real
property. (Mortgages are listed in Paragraphs 3, 4, and 5.)

Don’t leave any blanks. If you finish Paragraph 14 and have blank spaces left, type or write
“not applicable” in the blank spaces.

 Paragraph 15: Summary. This is the total division of property and debts listed in $$ for
Plaintiff and Defendant.

List the total for Plaintiff and the total for Defendant for each category of the Summary.

For both Plaintiff and Defendant, subtract the Mortgages on Real Property and Debts and
Liabilities to list the Total.

Both Spouses Must Sign Exhibit A (Form 4)! 

You can use this packet of forms Only If the forms are completed and signed as 
follows: 

• Summons (Form 1) – signed by Plaintiff and a clerk of court
• Complaint (Form 2) – signed by Plaintiff
• Settlement Agreement (Form 3) – signed by Plaintiff & Defendant in presence of

notary public or clerk of court
• Exhibit A: Property and Debt Listing (Form 4) – signed by Plaintiff & Defendant

in presence of notary public or clerk of court

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
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• Exhibit B: Parenting Plan (Form 5) – signed by Plaintiff & Defendant in presence 
of notary public or clerk of court

• Confidential Information Form (Form 6) – signed by Plaintiff & Defendant
• Admission of Service (Form 7) – signed by Defendant
• Affidavit of Proof (Form 8) – signed by Plaintiff in presence of notary public or 

clerk of court
• Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order for Judgment (Proposed) (Form

9) – unsigned
• Judgment (Proposed) (Form 10) – unsigned

 Plaintiff Completes and Signs Page 15. The Plaintiff must sign and date in the presence of a
Notary Public or a Clerk of Court.

 Defendant Completes and Signs Page 16. The Defendant must sign and date in the
presence of a Notary Public or a Clerk of Court.

Each spouse may sign on separate dates and at separate locations, but both spouses must
sign and date BEFORE filing this completed packet of forms with the court.

• The form doesn’t have to be signed in North Dakota or signed by a North Dakota Notary
Public or a North Dakota Clerk of Court.

• If you sign the form in a state other than North Dakota, sign in the presence of a Notary
Public or Clerk of Court of that state.
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Filing for Divorce Together – With Children 

Instructions for Form 5: Exhibit B: Parenting Plan 

(Form 5: Exhibit B: Parenting Plan is part of the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children 
packet of forms. Review the instructions for the packet of forms. You must complete the 

Settlement Agreement, Exhibit A, and Exhibit B before completing the Summons.) 

ND Legal Self Help Center Staff and Court employees can’t help you fill out forms. If you’re 
unsure how to proceed, consult a lawyer. 

ND Legal Self Help Center forms aren’t official court forms. Judges and courts aren’t required 
to accept them. There’s no guarantee Center forms will be accepted. Use at your own risk. 

Don’t include these instruction sheets when you serve or file the completed form. 

Fill out Exhibit B (Form 5) ONLY if you and your spouse agree on ALL issues in the Settlement 
Agreement (Form 3), Exhibit A (Form 4), and Exhibit B (Form 5). If you haven’t reached a full 
agreement on ALL issues, you can’t use this packet of forms. 

A Parenting Plan is required in every divorce involving residential responsibility (also 
known as custody) and parenting time (also known as visitation). If you attempt to file this 
packet of forms without including Exhibit B (Form 5), the Clerk of Court won’t accept any of 
your other completed forms for filing. 

The Plaintiff & Defendant Must Work Together to Complete & Sign This Form: 

Exhibit B: Parenting Plan (Form 5) tells the judge or judicial referee the full parenting rights and 
responsibilities agreement of the spouses. North Dakota law requires the parenting plan to 
include, at minimum, the following 7 provisions: 

1. Decision making responsibility for day to day decisions and major decisions such as
education, health care and spiritual development.

2. Information sharing and access, including telephone and electronic access.
3. Legal residence of each child for school attendance.
4. Residential responsibility, parenting time, and parenting schedule for holidays, days off

from school, birthdays, vacation planning, weekends, weekdays, and summers.
5. Transportation and exchange of the child, considering the safety of the parties.
6. Procedure for review and adjustment of the plan.
7. Methods for resolving disputes.

https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
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Best Interests of the Child (N.D.C.C. Section 14-09-06.2) 

The judge or judicial referee in your divorce case uses the 13 “Best Interests of the Child” 
factors to review residential responsibility (custody), parenting time (visitation), and everything 

else involved in the parenting plan. Best interests look at the child’s needs and who will best 
meet the child’s needs. 

Review the 13 “Best Interests of the Child” factors at N.D.C.C. Section 14-09-06.2 before 
completing this form. If the judge or judicial referee questions your parenting plan and 

schedules a hearing, you and your need to be prepared to argue how each factor applies to 
your parenting plan. 

Definitions 

Decision making responsibility – the responsibility to make decisions concerning the child.  The 
term may refer to decisions on all issues or on specific issues, but not child support issues. 

Parental rights and responsibilities – all the rights and responsibilities a parent has concerning 
the parent's child. 

Parenting plan – a written plan describing each parent's rights and responsibilities. 

Parenting schedule – the schedule of when the child is in the care of each parent. 

Parenting time – (also called visitation) the time when the child is to be in the care of a parent. 

Primary residential responsibility – a parent with more than fifty percent of the residential 
responsibility. 

Residential responsibility – (also called custody) a parent's responsibility to provide a home for 
the child. 

 Top of the Form (Caption): Fill in the caption exactly as you filled in the caption on Form 3:
Settlement Agreement.

 Paragraphs 1 & 2: If the statements in Paragraphs 1 and 2 aren’t true, Stop! You can’t use
this form or the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms.

 Paragraph 3: Fill in the same information as Paragraph 10 of Form 3: Settlement
Agreement.

https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t14c09.pdf#nameddest=14-09-06p2
https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t14c09.pdf#nameddest=14-09-06p2
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 Paragraph 4: Put a checkmark  in the box indicating the legal residence of the minor
child(ren) for school attendance. If you check “Other,” list the name of the person you want
to have legal residency of the child(ren).

• Legal residence is the place at which a person has been physically present, that the
person regards as home, and to where, whenever absent, the person intends to return.

 Paragraph 5: Residential Responsibility and Parenting Time

• Residential responsibility (also known as custody) is a parent’s responsibility to provide
a home for the child.

• Parenting time (also known as visitation) is the time when the child is to be in the care
of a parent.

 a. Residential Responsibility.

Put a checkmark  in the box next to equal residential responsibility if you and 
your spouse believe it’s in the best interests of the minor child(ren) for the spouses 
to share residential responsibility of the child(ren) 50% of the time.  

o Explain in detail the schedule you’re proposing the Plaintiff have.
o Explain in detail the schedule you’re proposing the Defendant have.

*Following are some examples of equal residential responsibility stated in Nolo’s Essential
Guide to Divorce, by Emily Doskow, June 2016.

 Fourteen Overnights: 
(Split time between parents and alternate schedule each week as follows:) 

Parent A/Week One: Sunday evening to Wednesday morning; 
Parent B/Week One: Wednesday afternoon to Sunday evening; 
Parent A/Week Two: Sunday evening to Wednesday morning; 
Parent B/Week Two: Wednesday afternoon to Sunday evening. 

Fourteen Overnights: 
(Split midweeks and every other weekend as follows:) 

Parent A: Monday evening to Wednesday evening each week, and every other 
weekend from Friday evening to Monday morning; 
Parent B: Wednesday evening to Friday morning each week, and every other 
weekend from Friday evening to Monday morning. 
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The examples listed above aren’t the only equal residential responsibility options. You may wish 
to review guidebooks for self-represented litigants and lawyers. Your local public or academic 
library may have guidebook resources available. Consult a lawyer if you need more assistance. 

Put a checkmark  in the box next to Plaintiff having primary residential 
responsibility if you and your spouse believe it’s in the best interests of the minor 
child(ren) for the Plaintiff to have primary residential responsibility of the child(ren). 

o Put a checkmark  in the box next to any or all agreed upon parenting time
options. If you have checked “Other,” describe the parenting schedule for
Defendant, as well as pickup times.

Put a checkmark  in the box next to Defendant having primary residential 
responsibility if you and your spouse believe it’s in the best interests of the minor 
child(ren) for the Defendant to have primary residential responsibility of the 
child(ren).  

o Put a checkmark  in the box next to any or all agreed upon parenting time
options. If you have checked “Other,” describe the parenting schedule for
Plaintiff, as well as pickup times.

 b.  Alternate Schedules.

This is your alternate schedule. If you have no alternate schedule, write “No 
Alternate Schedule” on the first line of each section. If you and your spouse agree to 
an alternate schedule, state in detail the schedule for any or all of the following, 
including pickup times.  

Examples of definitions include (but aren’t limited to): 

• Summertime – “According to the public school calendar;” “From June 1-
August 15;” etc.

• School Release Days – “Days as defined by the public school calendar;” “non-
holiday school breaks;” etc.

• Vacation with Parents – “two consecutive weeks in the summer time;” “two
non-consecutive weeks at any time;” “to be scheduled during normal
parenting time;” “only upon 30 days written notice;” etc.

o Summer Time. Fill in the definition of summer time to which you and your
spouse agree. If you want an alternative schedule, fill in the agreed upon
schedule. Otherwise, write “No Alternate Schedule.”
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o School Release Days. Fill in the definition of school release days to which you
and your spouse agree. If you want an alternative schedule, fill in the agreed
upon schedule. Otherwise, write “No Alternate Schedule.”

o Summer Time/School Release Days. (Please note the statement about summer
time and school release dates taking precedence over summer activities. If you
and your spouse don’t want this, Stop! You can’t use this form or the Filing for
Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms.)

o Vacation with Parents. Fill in the schedule to which you and your spouse agree.
Otherwise, write “No Alternate Schedule.”

 c. Schedule for Holidays and Other Special Days. Fill in the Holidays and Special Days
schedule to which you and your spouse agree with as many specifics as possible. 
Include when each holiday and special day is scheduled for Plaintiff and Defendant. 

o In the space provided after the Holidays and Special Days schedule, write the
beginning times and ending times for the holiday/special day. If you agree the
holiday/special day will include the weekend if it falls during a weekend or on a
Friday or a Monday, write that here. If there are any other special arrangements
with regard to holidays/special days, write them here.

 d. Children’s Activities During Parenting Time. Fill in details of the agreement of how
the spouses will inform each other of the minor child(ren)’s extracurricular activities. 

 e. Timeliness. Fill in the agreement to handle timeliness of visits.

 f.  Missing Parenting Time. Fill in the agreement to handle missed parenting time.

o Examples include (but aren’t limited to) “missed parenting time isn’t made up;”
“missed parenting time is made up the following week;” “a missed holiday is or
isn’t made up;” etc.

 g.  Notification. Fill in the agreement for notifying each other in advance of missed
parenting time. 

o Examples include (but aren’t limited to) “24 hours in advance;” “by phone;”
“text;” etc.

 h.  Restrictions on Contact with the Child(ren). Put a checkmark  in the box to which
you and your spouse agree. 

o If you put a checkmark  in the box restricting a spouse’s contact with the
child(ren), fill in the agreement.
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 Paragraph 6. Limitations on Residential Responsibility and Parenting Time Modifications.
Read carefully. You don’t need to fill out anything. If you and your spouse don’t agree with
this statement, Stop! You can’t use this form or the Filing for Divorce Together – With
Children packet of forms.

 Paragraph 7. Decision Making Responsibility. Complete all parts of Paragraph 7 (a through
g). The Parenting Plan must include decision making responsibility for routine or day-to-day
decisions, and major decisions such as education, health care and spiritual development.

 a. Emergency Medical Decisions. Read carefully. You don’t need to fill out anything. If
you and your spouse don’t agree with this statement, Stop! You can’t use this form 
or the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms. 

 b.  Day-to-Day Decisions. Read carefully. You don’t need to fill out anything. If you
don’t agree with this statement, Stop! You and your spouse can’t use this form or 
the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms. 

 c.  Daycare/Afterschool Provider. Put a checkmark  in the box next to the option or
options to which you and your spouse agree and fill out any blanks associated with 
the checkmark . 

 d.  Education Decisions. Put a checkmark  in the box next to the option to which you
and your spouse agree. Don’t checkmark more than one option. 

 e.  Non-Emergency Health Care Decisions. Put a checkmark  in the box next to the
option to which you and your spouse agree. Don’t checkmark more than one option. 

 f.  Spiritual Development Decisions. Put a checkmark  in the box next to option to
which you and your spouse agree. Don’t checkmark more than one option. 

 g.  Both parents must consent. Fill out the agreement of what both spouses must agree
to before the minor child(ren) is/are permitted to do something. 

 Paragraph 8. Information Sharing and Access.

 a – i. Read carefully. If you don’t agree to these provisions, Stop! You and your spouse
can’t use this form or the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms.

 j. Fill out the agreement for telephone access to the child(ren). Examples for j, k, and l,
include (but aren’t limited to) “daily;” “once every 3 days;” etc. 

 k. Fill out the agreement for electronic access to the child(ren).

 l. Fill out the agreement for contact with the child(ren) during long vacations with the
child(ren). 
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 Paragraph 9. Communication Between Parents. Read carefully. You don’t need to fill out
anything. If you don’t agree with this paragraph, Stop! You and your spouse can’t use this
form or the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms.

 Paragraph 10. Children’s Clothing and Personal Items. Put a checkmark  in the box next
to any option or options to which you and your spouse agree. Put a checkmark  in the
“Other” box, if needed, and explain other agreements related to clothing and personal
items.

 Paragraph 11. Transportation and Exchange Arrangements Considering the Safety of the
Child(ren). The Parenting Plan must include arrangements for transportation and exchange
of the minor child(ren). Put a checkmark  in the box next to the option or options to which
you and your spouse agree. If an option requires additional information, fill in the
information. Put a checkmark  in the “Other” box, if needed, and explain other
agreements related to transportation and exchange arrangements.

 Paragraph 12. Procedure for Review and Adjustment to Parenting Plan. Read carefully.
You don’t need to fill out anything. If you and your spouse don’t agree with this paragraph,
Stop! You can’t use this form or the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of
forms.

 Paragraph 13. Changes to Residence of the Children. Read carefully. You don’t need to fill
out anything. If you and your spouse don’t agree with this paragraph, Stop! You can’t use
this form or the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms.

 Paragraph 14. Dispute Resolution. Complete all 4 parts of Paragraph 14. The Parenting Plan
must include methods for resolving disputes.

 a.  Put a checkmark  in the box next to the option to which you and your spouse
agree. If the option requires details, fill in the details. Don’t checkmark more than 
one option. 

 b.  Put a checkmark  in the box next to the option to which you and your spouse
agree. If the option requires details, fill in the details. Don’t checkmark more than 
one option. 

 c.  Put a checkmark  in the box next to the option, or options, to which you and your
spouse agree. If the option requires details, fill in the details. 

 d.   Read carefully. If you don’t agree to these provisions, Stop! You and your spouse
can’t use this form or the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms.
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 Paragraph 15. Compliance. Read carefully. If you don’t agree to these provisions, Stop! You 
and your spouse can’t use this form or the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children 
packet of forms.

 Plaintiff Completes and Signs Page 14. The Plaintiff must sign and date in the presence of a 
Notary Public or a Clerk of Court.

 Defendant Completes and Signs Page 15. The Defendant must sign and date in the 

presence of a Notary Public or a Clerk of Court.

Each spouse may sign on separate dates and at separate locations, but both spouses must 

sign and date Before filing this completed packet of forms with the court.

• The form doesn’t have to be signed in North Dakota or signed by a North Dakota Notary 
Public or a North Dakota Clerk of Court.

• If you sign the form in a state other than North Dakota, sign in the presence of a Notary 
Public or Clerk of Court of that state.

Both Spouses Must Sign Exhibit B (Form 5)! 

You can use this packet of forms Only If the forms are completed and signed as 
follows: 
 Summons (Form 1) – signed by Plaintiff and a clerk of court
 Complaint (Form 2) – signed by Plaintiff
 Settlement Agreement (Form 3) – signed by Plaintiff & Defendant in presence of 

notary public or clerk of court
 Exhibit A: Property and Debt Listing (Form 4) – signed by Plaintiff & Defendant in 

presence of notary public or clerk of court
 Exhibit B: Parenting Plan (Form 5) – signed by Plaintiff & Defendant in presence 

of notary public or clerk of court
 Confidential Information Form (Form 6) – signed by Plaintiff & Defendant
 Admission of Service (Form 7) – signed by Defendant
 Affidavit of Proof (Form 8) – signed by Plaintiff in presence of notary public or 

clerk of court
 Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order for Judgment (Proposed) (Form

9) – unsigned
 Judgment (Proposed) (Form 10) – unsigned
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Filing for Divorce Together – With Children 

Instructions for Form 6: Confidential Information Form 

(Form 6: Confidential Information Form is part of the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children 
packet of forms. Review the instructions for the packet of forms. You must complete the 

Settlement Agreement, Exhibit A, and Exhibit B before completing this form.) 

ND Legal Self Help Center Staff and Court employees can’t help you fill out forms. If you’re 
unsure how to proceed, consult a lawyer. 

ND Legal Self Help Center forms aren’t official court forms. Judges and courts aren’t required 
to accept them. There’s no guarantee Center forms will be accepted. Use at your own risk. 

Don’t include these instruction sheets when you serve or file the completed form. 

The Plaintiff and Defendant Work Together to Complete & Sign This Form. 

When you file your Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms with the North 
Dakota state district court, all documents, except Form 4: Exhibit A and Form 6: Confidential 
Information Form, are available to the public to view.   

However, certain information is protected and required to remain confidential within publically 
available documents filed in divorce cases. 

Protected Information is: 

• Social Security Number. 
• Taxpayer Identification Number. 
• Birthdates. 
• Minor child’s name. 
• Financial account number. 

When you fill out the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms you need to 
refer to Protected Information. Except for Form 4 and Form 6, when you fill out the forms, 
write or type ONLY: 

• The last four (4) digits of the social security number. 
• The last four (4) digits of the taxpayer identification number. 
• The year of birth. 
• The minor child’s initials. 
• The last four (4) digits of the financial-account number. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
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The district court still needs to have access to the full Protected Information. Complete Form 
6: Confidential Information Form with the full Protected Information you reference in the rest 
of the forms. 

Form 6: Confidential Information Form is filed as a confidential document and isn’t available to 
the public to view. 

 Top of form (Caption): Fill in the caption exactly as you filled in the caption on Form 3: 
Settlement Agreement. 

 Plaintiff, Defendant and Minor Child(ren) Information: 

Full Information Column 

 Fill in the full, legal names, birth dates and social security numbers of the Plaintiff, 
Defendant and each minor child listed in Paragraph 10 of Form 3: Settlement 
Agreement. 

If a minor child doesn’t have a social security number, type or write “N/A.” 

If you have more than three minor children together, attach a sheet that lists the 
information for each additional child. 

Redacted Information Column 

 Fill in the information as it appears in Paragraph 10 of Form 3: Settlement Agreement. 

 Financial Account Information (choose one): 

Checkmark the first box if all financial account numbers are listed in full on Form 4: Exhibit 
A: Confidential Division of Property & Debts & Values. Go to the Date and Signature section. 

Checkmark the second box if the last 4 digits of any financial account numbers are listed on 
any other form in the packet of forms. Complete the Financial Account Number section of 
the form. 

Full Information Column 

 Fill in the full financial account number information for each financial account listed on 
any other form in the packet of forms except Form 4: Exhibit A. 

Redacted Information Column 

 Fill in the last 4 digits of each financial account number. 
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 Plaintiff’s Date and Signature:

The Plaintiff must date and sign Form 6: Confidential Information Form, and fill in their
address, telephone number, and email address.

 Defendant’s Date and Signature:

The Defendant must date and sign Form 6: Confidential Information Form, and fill in their
address, telephone number, and email address.
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Filing for Divorce Together – With Children 

Instructions for Admission of Service (Form 7) 

(Admission of Service (Form 7) is part of the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet 
of forms. Review the instructions for the packet of forms. You must complete the Settlement 

Agreement (Form 3), Exhibit A (Form 4), and Exhibit B (Form 5) before completing the 
Admission of Service.) 

ND Legal Self Help Center Staff and Court employees can’t help you fill out forms. If you’re 
unsure how to proceed, consult a lawyer. 

ND Legal Self Help Center forms aren’t official court forms. Judges and courts aren’t required 
to accept them. There’s no guarantee Center forms will be accepted. Use at your own risk. 

Don’t include these instruction sheets when you serve or file the completed form. 

The Plaintiff Fills Out the Caption of This Form. The Defendant Completes, Signs 
and Dates this Form. 

Service of a Summons is required in every divorce case, without exception. A completed, 
dated, and signed Admission of Service (Form 7) is your proof of service. 

Service of the Summons (Form 1) and copies of all other completed forms listed in Paragraph 1 
of the Admission of Service (Form 7) happens in Step Ten of the instructions for the packet of 
forms. 

 Plaintiff Fills Out the Top of Form (Caption): Fill in the caption exactly as you filled in the 
caption on the Settlement Agreement (Form 3). 

 Defendant Completes the Form: 

 Paragraph 1: Fill in the date you received your copy of the completed and signed 
Summons (Form 1) and all other forms listed in Paragraph 1. 

 Paragraphs 2 & 3: Read carefully. 

 Date and Signature: Date and sign the form. Fill in the county, state and country where 
you sign this form. Fill in the lines following your signature. 

After the Defendant dates and signs Admission of Service (Form 7), both spouses are required 
to obey the Summons (Form 1). 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
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Filing for Divorce Together – With Children 

Instructions for Form 8: Affidavit of Proof for Stipulated Judgment 

(Form 8: Affidavit of Proof for Stipulated Judgment is part of the Filing for Divorce Together – 
With Children packet of forms. Review the instructions for the packet of forms. You must 

complete the Settlement Agreement, Exhibit A, and Exhibit B before completing this form.) 

ND Legal Self Help Center Staff and Court employees can’t help you fill out forms. If you’re 
unsure how to proceed, consult a lawyer. 

ND Legal Self Help Center forms aren’t official court forms. Judges and courts aren’t required 
to accept them. There’s no guarantee Center forms will be accepted. Use at your own risk. 

Don’t include these instruction sheets when you serve or file the completed form. 

The Plaintiff Completes & Signs This Form: 

This packet of forms is designed to be presented to a North Dakota state district court judge or 
judicial referee without requiring a hearing. Evidence is presented by an affidavit of proof, 
which is the Plaintiff’s written statement of the facts of the divorce. 

The judge or judicial referee may still decide to hold a hearing before making a final decision. 

Top of form (Caption): Fill in the caption exactly as you filled in the caption on Form 3: 
Settlement Agreement. 

First Sentence: Fill in your full, legal name. 

Paragraph 1: Read carefully. 

Paragraph 2: If the statement in Paragraph 2 isn’t true, Stop! You can’t use this form or the 
Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms. 

Paragraph 3: Refer to Paragraph 4 of Form 3: Settlement Agreement to complete Paragraph 3. 

Paragraph 4: Refer to Paragraph 10 of Form 3: Settlement Agreement to complete Paragraph 4.  

Paragraph 5: Put a checkmark () next to the option that is true for you, the Plaintiff.  

Paragraph 6: Put a checkmark () next to the option that is true for the Defendant. 

Paragraph 7: Refer to Paragraph 11 of Form 3: Settlement Agreement to complete Paragraph 7. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
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Paragraph 8: Refer to Paragraph 7 of Form 3: Settlement Agreement to complete Paragraph 8. 

Paragraphs 9, 10, 11 & 12: Read carefully. If the statements in Paragraphs 9, 10, 11 and 12 
aren’t true, Stop! You can’t use this form or the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children 
packet of forms. 

Paragraph 13:  Read carefully. Fill in your, the Plaintiff’s, full name. 

Don’t sign and date until you’re in the presence of a Notary Public or a Clerk of Court. 

The Plaintiff signs and dates the completed form. Fill in your address, telephone number(s), and 
email address(es). 

• The form doesn’t have to be signed in North Dakota or signed by a North Dakota Notary 
Public or a North Dakota Clerk of Court. 

• If you sign the form in a state other than North Dakota, sign in the presence of a Notary 
Public or Clerk of Court of that state. 
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Filing for Divorce Together – With Children 

Instructions for Form 9: Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and 
Order for Judgment 

(Form 9: Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order for Judgment is part of the Filing for 
Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms. Review the instructions for the packet of 

forms. You must complete the Settlement Agreement, Exhibit A, and Exhibit B before 
completing this form.) 

ND Legal Self Help Center Staff and Court employees can’t help you fill out forms. If you’re 
unsure how to proceed, consult a lawyer. 

ND Legal Self Help Center forms aren’t official court forms. Judges and courts aren’t required 
to accept them. There’s no guarantee Center forms will be accepted. Use at your own risk. 

Don’t include this instruction sheet when you serve or file the completed form. 

The Plaintiff & Defendant Must Work Together to Complete This Form: 

To complete this form you need your completed Form 3: Settlement Agreement. 

Top of form (Caption): Fill in the caption exactly as you filled in the caption on Form 3: 
Settlement Agreement. 

Page 1 Paragraph: Don’t fill in any information. If Judge or Judicial Referee assigned to your 
divorce case uses this form, they fill in the information in the introductory paragraph. 

Findings of Fact: Paragraphs 1 – 19 

To complete this section of the form, refer to the completed “Agreement as to Facts” section 
of your completed Form 3: Settlement Agreement. 

Copy the information Exactly from each paragraph of the “Agreement as to Facts” section into 
the corresponding paragraphs of the “Findings of Fact.” 

Conclusions of Law: Paragraphs 20 – 47 

To complete this section of the form, refer to the completed “Stipulated Terms For 
Judgment” section of your completed Form 3: Settlement Agreement. 

Copy the information Exactly from each paragraph of the “Stipulated Terms For Judgment” 
section into the corresponding paragraphs of the “Conclusions of Law.” 

Order for Judgment 

Leave this section blank. If Judge or Judicial Referee assigned to your divorce case uses this 
form, they sign and date the form. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
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Filing for Divorce Together – With Children 

Instructions for Form 10: Judgment 

(Form 10: Judgment is part of the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children packet of forms. 
Review the instructions for the packet of forms. You must complete the Settlement Agreement, 

Exhibit A, and Exhibit B before completing this form.) 

ND Legal Self Help Center Staff and Court employees can’t help you fill out forms. If you’re 
unsure how to proceed, consult a lawyer. 

ND Legal Self Help Center forms aren’t official court forms. Judges and courts aren’t required 
to accept them. There’s no guarantee Center forms will be accepted. Use at your own risk. 

Don’t include this instruction sheet when you serve or file the completed form. 

The Plaintiff & Defendant Must Work Together to Complete This Form: 

To complete this form you need your completed Form 9: Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law 
and Order for Judgment. 

Top of form (Caption): Fill in the caption exactly as you filled in the caption on Form 3: 
Settlement Agreement. 

Page 1 Introductory Paragraph: Don’t fill in any information. If the Court uses this form, the 
Clerk of Court will fill in the information in the introductory paragraph. 

It is Ordered and Adjudged and Decreed as Follows: Paragraphs 1 – 28 

To complete this section of the form, refer to the “Conclusions of Law” section of your 
completed Form 9: Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order for Judgment. 

Copy the information Exactly from each paragraph of the “Conclusions of Law” section of your 
completed Form 9: Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order for Judgment into the 
corresponding paragraphs of Form 10: Judgment. 

Paragraph 29 

Fill in the last four digits of the Plaintiff’s Social Security Number and the last four digits of the 
Defendant’s Social Security Number. 

 Final Paragraph 

Leave this section blank. If the Court uses this form, the Clerk of Court will fill in the information 
and date and sign the form. 

Don’t include this instruction sheet when you serve or file the completed form. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
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Filing for Divorce Together – With Children 

Instructions for Form 11: Notice of Entry of Judgment 

(Form 11: Notice of Entry of Judgment is part of the Filing for Divorce Together – With Children 
packet of forms. Review the instructions for the packet of forms. You must have a completed 

Form 10: Judgment signed and dated by the Clerk of Court before completing this form.) 

ND Legal Self Help Center Staff and Court employees can’t help you fill out forms. If you’re 
unsure how to proceed, consult a lawyer. 

ND Legal Self Help Center forms aren’t official court forms. Judges and courts aren’t required 
to accept them. There’s no guarantee Center forms will be accepted. Use at your own risk. 

Don’t include these instruction sheets when you serve or file the completed form. 

The Plaintiff Completes & Signs This Form: 

Within 14 days after Judgment is entered, the Plaintiff must serve a completed copy of the 
Form 11: Notice of Entry of Judgment on the Defendant.  

A copy of the signed and dated Form 10: Judgment and Form 4: Exhibit A and Form 5: Exhibit B 
must be served with the copy of the Form 11: Notice of Entry of Judgment. 

 Top of form (Caption): Fill in the caption exactly as you filled in the caption on Form 3: 
Settlement Agreement. 

 To: Fill in the full, legal name of the Defendant. 

 Paragraph: Fill in the date the Clerk of Court signed the Form 10: Judgment. Fill in the 
County and City of the North Dakota District Court where the Form 10: Judgment was 
signed. Fill in the Docket Number (Index #) of the Form 10:Judgment.  

To find the Docket Number (Index #) of the judgment: 

• Go to ndcourts.gov and click on “Search Records & Pay Fines”. 

• Read the information and then click “Click here to Proceed”. 

• From the “Select a Location” drop down menu, select the county where your divorce 
case was decided, or select State of North Dakota. 

• Click on the “Civil, Family & Probate Case Records” link. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Divorce/Simple%20Divorce%20with%20Children/Instructions-for-Packet.pdf
http://www.ndcourts.gov/
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• Select “Case” in the “Search By:” field. 

• Enter your case number in the “Case Number” field. 

• Click on the “Search” box. 

• Click on the link for your case number. 

• Scroll through the list of documents until you find the judgment. (The date on the 
judgment should match the date of the judgment in the list of documents. 

• The Docket Number is shown as “Index # __”. 

 Plaintiff’s Date and Signature: Complete the date and signature block. 

• Fill in the date you sign this document. 

• Sign the signature line. 

• Print your name. 

• Fill in the address lines. If you have a physical address and a mailing address, type or 
write both addresses using the lines provided, and the space next to the address 
lines. 

• Fill in the telephone number and email address lines. 

Make 2 Copies of Form 11: Notice of Entry of Judgment, Signed and Dated 
Form 10: Judgment, and Form 4: Exhibit A and Form 5: Exhibit B. 

 Make 2 copies of the completed, signed and dated Form 11: Notice of Entry of Judgment. 

• One copy for you and one for you to serve on the Defendant. You file the original 
with the court.  

 Make 2 copies of the signed and dated Form 10: Judgment. 

• One copy for you and one for you to serve on the Defendant. 

 Make 2 copies of the signed and dated Exhibits. You must serve a copy of Form 4: Exhibit 
A: Confidential Division of Property & Debt & Values; and a copy of Form 5: Exhibit B: 
Parenting Plan on the Defendant. 

• One copy for you and one for you to serve on the Defendant. 
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Serve Copies of Form 11: Notice of Entry of Judgment, 
Form 10: Judgment, Form 4: Exhibit A and Form 5: Exhibit B. 

Serve copies of the Form 11: Notice of Entry of Judgment, Form 10: Judgment, Form 4: Exhibit 
A: Confidential Division of Property & Debt & Values, and Form 5: Exhibit B: Parenting Plan on 
the Defendant or their lawyer, if the Defendant is represented. 

 Gather the following copies of documents to serve on the Defendant: 

• Form 11: Notice of Entry of Judgment; 
• Form 10: Judgment; 
• Form 4: Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property & Debt & Values; and 
• Form 5: Exhibit B: Parenting Plan. 

 The person serving by mail does the following: 

• The person serving by mail must be at least 18 years old. 

• Put the copies of documents listed above in an envelope. 

• Address the envelope with the Defendant’s last known address. 

o If you know the Defendant is currently represented by a lawyer, address the 
envelope with the lawyer’s address, not the Defendant’s. 

• List your address as the return address on the envelope. 

• Put the correct first class postage on the envelope. 

o Postage must be prepaid. 
o It’s very important to put the correct postage on the envelope. If you don’t, the 

envelope may be returned to you causing you to miss the service deadline. 

• Put the envelope in the United States mail. 

• Service by mail is complete upon mailing. 

Complete the Declaration of Service by Mail Form 

The person who mailed the envelope must complete the Declaration of Service by Mail form. 
(If the envelope is mailed at a United States Post Office, the United States Post Office employee 
doesn’t complete Declaration of Service by Mail form.) 
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 Top of form (Caption): Fill in the caption exactly as you filled in the caption on Form 3: 
Settlement Agreement. 

 Paragraph 1: Fill in your name. 

 Paragraph 2: The documents you served are already listed for you. 

 Paragraph 3: Review. 

 Paragraph 4: Fill in the date you served the documents listed in Paragraph 2 by mail.  

 Paragraph 5: Fill in the Defendant’s name and the address where you mailed the 
documents listed in Paragraph 2. 

 Paragraph 6: Review carefully. 

File Original Form 11: Notice of Entry of Judgment and Declaration of Service by 
Mail Form with the Clerk of Court 

File the following original, completed forms with the Clerk of Court where your divorce case is 
filed: 

• Form 11: Notice of Entry of Judgment; and  
• Declaration of Service by Mail. 

What Do I Do Next? 

Review your Judgment carefully. 

If the Judgment requires you to do certain things, such as pay off a debt, return items to your 
ex-spouse, get a new loan on the home, etc., you must do that now. Failure to do so could 
result in an order finding you in contempt of court. 




